Two For Tuesday: Dinah Shore

2fortuesdaybadge

First in my list of commercial jingles from yesterday was “See The USA In Your Chevrolet!” Dinah Shore sang it, of course, which is why I chose her as today’s featured artist.

Dinah was born Frances Rose Shore in Winchester, Tennessee, but earned the name Dinah from disc jockey Martin Block. He couldn’t remember her name, so he called her “that Dinah girl,” because she often used that song in her auditions. She auditioned with Benny Goodman and both Dorsey brothers, but was turned down by all three, so she went out as a solo act, becoming the first singer of her era to do so and become successful.

Dinah’s probably better known for her work in television. I know her best from her show in the early Seventies, which I watched from time to time when I was on summer vacation. She was an engaging host and had some interesting guests displaying hidden talents (one morning, she and Bishop Sheen made hamburgers; another day, she sang “Sophisticated Lady” accompanied by former Vice President Spiro Agnew). She was an avid golfer and big supporter of women’s golf, starting the Colgate Dinah Shore tournament (now known as the ANA Inspiration tournament) in 1972, and it’s still one of the major tournaments on the LPGA Tour.

“Buttons and Bows” was her all-time best-selling single, and it reached #1 in 1948, spending ten weeks there.

“Anniversary Song” was written by Al Jolson and Saul Chaplin, with the melody being adapted from “Waves of the Danube” by Ion Ianovici. Dinah recorded it in 1947, and it spent eight weeks on the chart, peaking at #4.

Dinah Shore, your Two For Tuesday, October 18, 2016.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

15 thoughts on “Two For Tuesday: Dinah Shore”

  1. I like Dinah’s voice. I vaguely remember her daytime talk show. I definitely remember that she dated Burt Reynolds when he was supposed to be one of the sexiest men in America.

    Love,
    Janie

    Like

  2. In recent months I’ve started recording episodes of The Dinah Shore Show as they are shown on the Jewish TV network. So far I’ve only watched a couple of them. The show brings back memories of when it was on in my childhood days (these shows are from around 1960). The Chevy commercial theme is an iconic ad ditty from those days.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. Gee, they have a cable network for everything, don’t they? That one might be worth watching, like EWTN. Dinah was Jewish, so I can see why they’d carry it. Do they leave the old commercials in it? Buzzr carries three classic game shows (To Tell The Truth, What’s My Line, and I’ve Got A Secret) complete with the old ads. I think they’re kinescopes from that era. (They extend the shows ten minutes to get their ads in, too.)

      Wasn’t she gorgeous? I fall in love with her whenever I watch her videos or hear her sing.

      Like

      1. They don’t have the vintage commercials other than the closing Chevy song. However the network also air old Jack Benny Show episodes which do include the Lucky Strike commercials which were incorporated into the shows themselves. Some of those are pretty entertaining and quite funny.

        Arlee Bird
        Tossing It Out

        Like

Leave a Reply

