A Cooler and Less Humid Week That Was

This edition of The Week That Was is sponsored by Woolworth and Woolco, your Hallowe’en store!

Hope you’ve got your Hallowe’en shopping done!

The Week That Was

The weather has finally cooled off and it feels great. Aside from that, it was a quiet week, thank heaven.

“Songs from commercials” was the theme, and you know I was all over it. I had Dan singing along with Snap, Crackle, and Pop on the Rice Krispies commercial. My dad told me that the part where the three are singing separate verses at the same time is a fugue, and Dan said it might very well have been. Arlee was a big fan of The T-Bones, a group comprised of some of L.A.’s hottest session players (“The Wrecking Crew”) who made a few hit records, with “No Matter What Shape (Your Shape Is In)” being their best-known and highest-charting song. Marie said she remembered the Chevrolet song because of a parody they would sing back in high school:

See the USSR
In your armored car,
Mr. Krushchev is asking you to call.
Bring your tommy guns,
We’ll have lots of fun!
Germany’s the greatest land of all!
2fortuesdaybadge

The lovely Dinah Shore was the subject of this week’s twofer. Mary Lou was happy I included “Buttons and Bows,” which had her clapping and singing along. Dan said he knew someone else had sung it; Bob Hope sang it in 1938’s The Paleface, and, more recently, Kelsey Grammer sang a hilarious version on Frasier, which is embedded in my comment, so go see it there. Janie said she remembered that Dinah was once romantically linked with Burt Reynolds about the same time Burt posed nude in Cosmopolitan, a fact I had completely forgotten, maybe intentionally. Arlee said that reruns of her Sixties talk show are now being shown on the Jewish Life TV cable network. (Check their site for where you can see it in your area.)

1linerwedsbadgewes

This week’s one-liner came from neurologist, psychiatrist, and Holocaust survivor Viktor Frankl, who wrote the book Man’s Search For Meaning. It was the line about the space between stimulus and response, where we can choose our responses. Ally said that too often we forget that space, choosing instead to focus on either the stimulus or the response, and sometimes it’s best to “just be.” That’s true, and I think we need to remember that not everything requires a response. Michele has read the book and loved it, and recommends the movie The Boy in the Striped Pajamas. JoAnna said Frankl’s book has been on her reading list for a while.

The prompt was “mistake,” so I talked about the futility of looking back over your life at things you can now tell were mistakes, and how they really aren’t mistakes, but choices. Dan said that even the bad choices can lead to good things, and he’s right: sometimes I think meeting Mary was the best thing to come of my four years in college. Ally said math is overrated and life is for the living, and mistakes are part of that. At the end, I mused about what’s going on with me in alternate universes, and Karen Lynn from Reprobate Typewriter said that, if it makes me feel better, there was one where I had been eaten by cannibals. I got a kick out of that. I also mentioned that a lot of my dreams lately involve a filthy bathroom, and I had no idea why. Joey came up with a plausible explanation, for which I thank her.

I featured your contributions to my theme of “songs with ‘shak…’ in the title.” The days I feature your choices always seem to be favorites.

socsbadgecropped

The prompt was “ho,” which threw me for a loop until I remembered my last name, and that touched off five minutes of thoughts about having my last name. Mother Willow said that people regularly mispronounce her name, often making it sound like a completely different one. When I was training, I tried my best to pronounce people’s names correctly; I was taught that pronouncing and spelling a person’s name correctly showed them respect. Sometimes it wasn’t that easy, though I was surprised that I usually got the Eastern European names right. Deborah said that people had more than a little trouble pronouncing her last name (Drucker), which was surprising. Linda, our host for Stream of Consciousness Saturday, said she wanted to research her ancestry, but it was hard to find the time. It can be time-consuming, with a lot of shuffling through official documents and interviewing distant relatives you’ve never met. A good way to start is to talk to the older relatives you know. It’s good to talk to them, anyway.

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

As everyone knows by now, Chris Botti and Sting bested Michel Legrand in the latest iteration of who does a better job of “What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life?” More like Chris and Sting slaughtered M. Legrand, who wrote the song and I think deserved a better fate, but that’s just me. As promised, the November 1 battle will pit Chris and Sting against the winner of the women’s battle, Barbra Streisand. Stephen, who runs BotB, said he thought that had the potential of being a close one. After two blowouts in the semifinals, I certainly hope so.

As always, thanks to everyone who commented. I’m sorry I haven’t replied to some of your comments, but trust me, I do appreciate them.

This week, I have a very funny story to tell for One-Liner Wednesday, which will be a mash-up with Wednesdays for My Wife. Tomorrow is a freebie day on Monday’s Music Moves Me, Jo Stafford will likely be my featured artist on Two for Tuesday, and beyond that, I have no idea, so join me this week to see what I’ve come up with. Thanks for reading!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

4 thoughts on “A Cooler and Less Humid Week That Was”

  1. What a good summary of the week that was. I never thought Burt Reynolds was good looking, sexy, or a good actor–except in Boogie Nights, which is a sad but excellent movie. I’ve never had a filthy bathroom dream (at least not one that I can recall), but I have a lot of dreams in which I forget to go to work. In these nightmares, I always have two jobs and forget to check the schedule at one and therefore don’t go to work. I also have nightmares in which I forget to attend college classes to take tests. I’ve never actually done any of these things, so I don’t know what causes the nightmares. Here’s wishing you a great week with no filthy-bathroom dreams.

    Love,
    Janie

    Like

  2. It’s so nice here, weather wise, that I just want to play all day every day and I can’t and that makes me a bit sad. And even if I could, my whole family is more scheduled than I. More sad. But oh this weather!!! πŸ˜€
    You had a big week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

