Monday’s Music Moves Me: Witches, Gypsy Women, Hoodoo, etc.

As I said in my post last year, I’m not into Hallowe’en. I almost pointed out that Hallowe’en is short for “All Hallow’s Eve,” being the day before All Saints’ Day, and given you five songs with “saint” in them. Then I realized that there were more than a few songs about witches, Gypsy women, voodoo, etc. and this playlist was born. Hope you like it.

Witchy Woman – Eagles Their first Top Ten hit reached #9 in 1972 in the US and #8 in Canada.

Witch Queen of New Orleans – Redbone Their second single rose to #2 in the UK but only to #21 in the US. It’s a great song, too. Go figure.

Marie Laveau – Dr. John This isn’t the song by Bobby Bare that was covered by Dr. Hook. I first heard this on an album my Dad had that featured the Albert “Papa” French Dixieland Band (originally the Oscar “Papa” Celestin Dixieland Band). The original is here, and I chose not to go with it because it’s kind of hard to hear, and besides, Dr. John does it in his own unique style. Marie was a Creole woman who practiced voodoo in New Orleans, and the song tells her story, sort of.

Love Potion #9 – The Clovers The original version of this Lieber and Stoller classic, covered many times, never quite duplicated. It reached #23 on the Hot 100 and the R&B Chart in 1959.

Hoochie Coochie Man – Muddy Waters Willie Dixon, Muddy’s onetime bass player, has composed hundreds of blues songs, including this, which incorporates Gypsy women, hoodoo (the black cat bone, the mojo, the John the Conqueror root), and a reference to the “seventh son of a seventh son” legend. Muddy recorded this in 1954 and a number of times after; this is the original.

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for October 31, 2016.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Stacy, Cathy, and Naila Moon, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

13 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Witches, Gypsy Women, Hoodoo, etc.”

  1. Nice selection, John. The first thing that popped into my head was Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves by Cher but I’m not going to look for a link, as I don’t put it in this category. Still, thd choirs is firmly stuck in my head.

    Like

      1. Costumes are astronomically expensive given the quality, candy’s not cheap, but I’d venture to say this expense must surely come from the decorations. I don’t do that, so I don’t know. Moo has one more year that I’ll outfit her, but after that, they’ll pay for their own, or they’ll get creative 😉

        Like

  2. I haven’t heard these in like forever! Some great pickin’s here my friend! I hope you had a fun & safe halloween! Trick or TReat!!! My favorite is the Hoochie Coochie Man. Love it.

    Like

  3. For years I made my living in the Halloween business. It was a fun job. Now that my kids are grown and I no longer have that job, I’m not so much into Halloween. Tonight I put a barrier at my porch entrance and kept the lights off. No candy at my house!

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. Most of the kids in the neighborhood are beyond the age of trick or treat, so we didn’t have many walking around the neighborhood. We had our lights off and set a chair in front of the stairs. I think they got the hint.

      Like

Leave a Reply

