BotB: The World Series of “What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life?”

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

The song is, as it has been the last couple of Battles, “What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life?” My 10/1 Battle pitted Barbra Streisand against Dusty Springfield for the women’s championship; Babs won that one 9-2. The men battled on 10/15, with Michel Legrand (the composer of the song) and Chris Botti with Sting locking horns. That battle ended in a blowout by Botti and Sting.

Now let’s see what happens when we pit Babs and Botti against each other. This could be a close one, because each won by a blowout.

CONTESTANT #1: Barbra Streisand

CONTESTANT #2: Chris Botti with Sting

So, leave me a comment to let me know which of these two versions you like better, then go visit other blogs doing a battle today.

Jingle Jangle Jungle
Mike’s Ramblings
Curious as a Cathy
Janie Junebug Righting & Editing
Tossing It Out
THE DOGLADY’S DEN
J. A. Scott
YOUR DAILY DOSE
STMcC Presents ‘BATTLE OF THE BANDS’ *
Angels Bark
Cherdo on the Flipside
DiscConnected

* Stephen has the current list of participants on his site

The winner will be announced next Tuesday, November 8, 2016, Election Day in the United States. Best of luck to Babs, Chris, and Sting! The lines are now open!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

20 thoughts on “BotB: The World Series of “What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life?””

  1. Wow, this is a really hard decision. But I love how this has all played out. I love both of these version. So I had to do something to break the tie in my head. I had to picture myself relaxing at home with the lights dimmed and a drink by my side. I imagined which I would prefer more, which would relax me more.
    In the end, I decided to go with the Botti & Sting version.

    Like

  2. Fun concept! 🙂 I’ve always been a Barbra Streisand fan. Sting, not so much. Still, I gave both versions a fair listen. Babs is still # 1 in my book. Looks like a minority opinion, so far.

    Like

  3. I vote for Sting, although I was one of the rebels who voted for Michel Legrand. Barbra Streisand’s version is too slow compared to Sting’s. I wouldn’t want to listen to her over and over.

    Love,
    Janie

    Like

  4. John, both artists did a good job. Barb makes me feel like I’m in a lounge. Her vocals suit the song but not my ear so much, but I really liked Chris Botti with Sting. His vocals have a bit of an edge where Barb is refined and I liked that a lot. It really captured my ear the best. The soothing music arrangement just embodied the whole song beautifully. Please give my vote to Chris Botti with Sting.

    Like

  5. I’ve been looking forward to this World Series showdown, JOHN, because I was sure it’d be a good one. And it IS!

    As a person, I pretty much despise Barbra Streisand. Though I’ve never met her, I’ve read more than enough about her to make that statement. However, although her “acting” is very debatable, there is simply no arguing against the fact that as a vocalist she is exceptional — one of the best for sure.

    Sting I’ve never liked, but I think Chris Botti is terrific! His album ‘A Thousand Kisses Deep’ is amongst my most played — and I have A LOT of compact discs.

    This is a very good song, and Streisand nails it. She’s got the perfect voice for a ballad like this, and she gives it that kind of bittersweet, hauntingly melancholic touch a la ‘The Way We Were’.

    If the Botti / Sting version had more Botti than it does, perhaps it would have been a bit more competitive in my ears. But “a touch of Botti” at the beginning and the end, with “a lot” of Sting in the middle is no contest for 100% Streisand.

    Vote: Streisand.

    Excellent Battle, and right now it looks like this victory is still up for grabs.

    ~ D-FensDogG
    ‘Loyal American Underground’

    Like

  6. I didn’t vote in the ladies round last month. There was a hurricane and migraines, so I’m thrilled to get another crack at this one. I voted for Bottom and Sting last time, but Streisand has the clearest voice. And sometimes she sings so purely that it’s simply gorgeous. This is one of those times. Loved it. An enthusiastic vote for Streisand.

    Like

    1. I’d like to find the idiot that came up with autocorrect and beat him over the head with Merriam-Webster’s New World dictionary, myself. The first thing I do when I start using a new browser, text editor, etc. is find the spell check, grammar check, and autocorrect options and turn them OFF. I don’t need them; I had nuns in grammar school who told me that misspelled words were nails in the hands of Jesus. I’d rather misspell a word than have autocorrect change it to something that makes no sense.

      Like

Leave a Reply

