Writer’s Workshop: A Blast From My Past

jinx
Cute little bastard, wasn’t I?

I don’t do a whole lot with graphics here on the blog, and I really should, at least judging by what all the blogging goo-roos advise.

This was taken at my Aunt Jinx’s and Uncle Cas’s wedding, I’m going to say circa 1961. And I can say that, knowing that all of my aunts will tell me, either here or on Facebook, that I got it all wrong, it was 1962 or whenever. I was asked to be the ringbearer at said wedding, with my Mom’s cousin Cathy (who’s my age) serving as the flower girl. As you can see, I wore a white suit to execute my duties, kind of like a Good Humor man. I carried a pillow with two fake rings sewn onto it, since they didn’t trust me with the real things. Basically, I was part of the decorations.

I’m sitting with my parents here. They were about thirty, 29 if you get really fussy about it, so they look really good. This was taken at the reception, held at the Drake Hotel in downtown Chicago, right where Lake Shore Drive makes a sharp left before getting to Michigan Avenue. Again, I’m not really sure about the Drake; I’ll have to rely on my aunts to correct me there as well. What I remember really well was that they were giving out rice to everyone to throw at Jinx and Cas when they returned from changing their clothes so they could make their escape to the honeymoon. They took a long time, by which time the rice cooked in my hand and Dad told me to drop it in an ashtray.

When I was officially done with my ringbearing duties, Mom and Dad took me home and I got to hang out with my brothers and Grandma while they went back out to a party or something. I was glad to get out of the suit and ditch the pillow.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

21 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop: A Blast From My Past”

  1. Great photo recall 🙂 Your parents look amazing — your mother’s authentic smile, she just glows! — and you are so adorable, dressed like the Good Humor Man!
    I don’t recall the first wedding I was in, but one along the way stands out. As flower girl, I wore an elaborate burgundy dress and my cousin braided my hair in such an intricate and lovely way, I didn’t want to wash it ever. lol I think I was about 6, and I thought the wedding was all about me, so 6 seems right. 🙂

    Like

  2. Very cute little guy! I was a flower girl in my sister’s wedding and I was so excited to be able to sit at the table with the wedding party. I was 8. LOL about the cooked rice.

    Like

  3. What nice memories – love the pic. You all look genuinely happy together.
    I was flower girl at my oldest brother’s wedding when I was 10. It made me feel special, but like you, I was eventually glad to ditch the dress, the shoes, and the basket.

    Like

  4. I”ll leave to aunt JINX to make some correction, but I will say that it was Aug. 4, 1962..She can tell you where and WHY it took so long to leave You and Cathy Connelly Krueger were. ADORABLE ! 😍

    Like

    1. I’m always a bit foggy on when things happened that early, and events start merging and rearranging themselves. From what you’re saying, I assume you know why it took so long… 😉

      Like

  5. I love a little walk down memory lane! Look how adorable your little family was. 🙂 I love that they took you home so that they could continue with an adult-only evening. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

