The Friday Five: Your “Smoke” Songs

Last week I gave you six songs with “smoke” in the title and invited you to come up with more. Here are the five that were suggested.

Blue Smoke – Dolly Parton Dan gave us this one from the lovely Ms. Parton, and I think you’ll agree it’s fun to listen to. I take no responsibility if you hurt yourself while dancing around the room.

Smokey Joe’s Cafe – The Robins Uncle Jack suggested this one. I knew there was a stage show called Smokey Joe’s Cafe, but didn’t realize it was a song. The Robins, an early doo-wop group, recorded it in 1956. Later, songwriting superstars Jerry Lieber and Mike Stoller took two of the members, Carl Gardner and Bobby Nunn, as the basis for the group The Coasters. Jack said Buddy Holly and The Coasters also did it.

When Smokey Sings – ABC Jeffrey gave us this one. ABC were an early-Eighties British New Wave band that’s still working; in fact, they recorded an album, The Lexicon of Love II, earlier this year.

Smoke Dreams – k. d. lang Arlee suggested this. It’s from k. d.’s 1997 album Drag, on which she does cover versions of songs about cigarettes and in general about addiction. The album includes her cover of the theme from “Valley of the Dolls,” which has replaced Dionne Warwick’s version as my favorite. As Arlee said, k. d. is an amazingly talented singer.

Roll Me Up And Smoke Me When I Die – Willie Nelson You just can’t have a list about smoke without Willie Nelson, can you? Janie recommended this one.

Thanks to everyone who recommended a song or left a comment. That’s your Friday Five for November 4, 2016.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

12 thoughts on “The Friday Five: Your “Smoke” Songs”

  1. That Willie Nelson title reminds me of how a few months after an old friend of my died (reportedly of suicide), his wife invited a small number of his friends over to “eat” his ashes. I don’t think anyone took her up on the offer and the general opinion is that she has gone a bit crazy. I always thought she was a bit weird and then this story confirmed it for me.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. Cool, thanks for using my song selection. I love the selection of songs. So varied and different.
    Regarding Arlee’s comment – Ewwwww. At least she didn’t make food for people and put the ashes in without telling anyone. Now that would be creepy.

    Like

    1. I usually get a good bunch of song suggestions when I run one of my lists, and yours was good because I hadn’t heard ABC before. Thanks for that!

      Yes, food wih ashes baked in would definitely rank above chocolate-covered ants in the “ugh!” department. Mom said chocolate-covered ants are great as long as you don’t know what you’re eating. She was at a party once and thought they were Raisinets…

      Like

  3. Thanks for letting Dolly in the mix. I didn’t know that Smokey Joe’s Cafe was a song. I saw the play with my daughter back in the 90s. There were a ton of songs, but I don’ think that was one of them. I love Willie’s contribution.

    Like

    1. That song wasn’t in the show, but I understand a passage from it was played at the act break. Seems to be a glaring omission, but I wasn’t the one who put the show together. Lieber and Stoller wrote all the songs used. They were a tremendous songwriting team.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

