Post-Election Thoughts #1LinerWeds

Right now, it’s twenty to two on Tuesday. I have no idea who won the Presidential election, if anyone has, and I’m not sure I really care.

I saw this on Facebook about a month ago, and have been tempted to use it for One-Liner Wednesday ever since.

I’m sure we’re all either relieved at the outcome or terrified by it, and probably both.

Mostly, though, we’re relieved that it’s finally over and social media will soon return to normal.

For those of you in non-United States parts of the world, I’m sure you’ve come to the conclusion that we’ve lost our minds, and to be honest with you, I’m not sure I disagree with you. This whole election cycle has gone on like this since the end of the last election cycle (November 4, 2014). That’s 735 days. That’s TWO WHOLE YEARS. And for what? To find out which of two malignant narcissists gets to live at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, Washington DC 20500 and fly around in an airplane called Air Force One and a helicopter called Marine One, all on the public dime, for the next four years or so.

Let’s pledge right now to never let this happen again. Like my blogging friend eViL pOp TaRt says, “Chill Out, America!”

So my thought is, it’s time to chill out, to mend fences. And stop all that carping, backbiting, and acting metaphorically like those monkeys.

Have a beer, hamburgers or tacos, and enjoy sex with a spouse or friend. And thank whatever God you subscribe to that you are an American! Cause, people, we kick ass!

Don’t give up on that. Don’t threaten to flee to Canada or the Isle of the Blest or whatever fantasy you’re into. We know you’re just being full of bovine manure. Americans don’t punt on first down.

I love you all.


1linerwedsbadgewes

One-Liner Wednesday is brought to you each week by Linda Hill and this station.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

23 thoughts on “Post-Election Thoughts #1LinerWeds”

  1. Hi John – it’s been dominating our news … and has been appalling to date – to think we live in this sort of world … I do hope it all calms down very quickly … and we have a calm 4 years … cheers Hilary

    Like

  2. Yep, we think you’re all mental.
    Having said that, I’m married to an American and SHE thinks you’re all mental, too, so I’m guessing there are more like y’all back there who’re as sane as her.
    My sympathies to those of you who are able to tie your own shoelaces, put your pants on the right way round at least two times out of three and can PUT AN “X” IN THE RIGHT DAMN BOX!

    Like

  3. I like what JoAnna said. All hail the felines! I also like your one-liner. Sadly, people will continue to find something to hate about as it seems to be something that doesn’t want to go away. sigh

    Like

  4. You’re right. It’s time to get back along with our own lives. Personally, I’ve felt that Trump has been miscalculated by many and misunderstood as well. I truly believe he’ll make an amazing president if the country allows him to be so.

    Arlee Bird
    Wrote By Rote

    Like

    1. I don’t think he’s the monster people have made him out to be. He wouldn’t be as successful in business as he is if he were that big of a booger. We won’t know until he starts work.

      Like

  5. John, I’m glad the election is over. If you’ve seen any of my tweets you know I was one that felt like ‘enough is enough’ and attacked as hard as I knew how through social media. Other than voting that was this was the best way for me help. Initially Trump wasn’t my first pick. I liked his straight-talk & his general political stance but not as conservative as I am. When he got the GOP nominee I knew he was the better candidate. The only way Hillary would get my votes is if I had died & thankfully that didn’t happen. In the end, I’m happy with the election outcome. We secured future Supreme Justice appointees who should be a lot less liberal than Hillary’s choices, better health insurance options, curing the illegal & refugee problem, …to name just a few areas needing attention. Things will settle down and we’ll all get back to normal, but I hope everyone remains vigilant to the issues and take action as needed. Government is meant to serve its people not control the people.

    Like

    1. Right. Government isn’t the country, the people are. The US is great because of its people, not because of its government (I’d almost say it’s great despite its government). Trump is crude, he’s crass, but he gets things done. Mike Huckabee said he’s the doctor with no bedside manner that tells you to lose fifty pounds and exercise; you’re mad at him, then you realize he’s right.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

