Some Recent Favorites (Writer’s Workshop)

The prompt that caught my attention this week was “Share a list of some of your most recent favorite things.” I’m not usually one to do prompts like that one, but I got to thinking and, well, next thing I knew I had the post written. So here are some recent favorites.

a3f4a1f9888546328b54f53b7cc8cad2
Salted Caramel Mocha Frappuccino (source: Starbucks)

Mary and I spend a lot of time at Starbucks. It’s where I get a lot of my writing done and it’s a good place to run when the walls are closing in on us. We’re Gold members, meaning we accumulate points every time we buy something (2 for every dollar), and when we accumulate 125, we get a freebie. My go-to drink when I get the freebie lately is the salted caramel mocha Frappuccino. I think it’s a seasonal drink, so be sure and get one while they’re still around.

box-sausagepepperoni_sm
Home Run Inn Classic Sausage & Uncured Pepperoni Pizza (source: Home Run Inn)

Mary and I grew up in Chicago, where you could find good pizza from the pizzeria a block from home. Since moving to Atlanta 29 years ago, we haven’t had the same kind of luck. Fortunately, Publix Food Stores carry frozen pizzas from Chicago’s Home Run Inn, a venerable South Side restaurant. I can hear you say “frozen pizza? Ew, gross!” but they’ve really gotten a lot better over the years, and these pizzas take us back to 31st and Keeler. If you come from Chicago, you know where that is…

I spend far too much time (and money) playing Two Dots on my Kindle Fire, but I can’t help it; it’s a lot of fun and kind of infuriating at the same time. Mary was playing Candy Crush on her iPad, but I never liked it as well, because it doesn’t have the same challenge of trying to outsmart the game as Two Dots has. I’ve gotten to level 675 on the regular game, plus have beaten several of the weekly quests and gotten my name on the list. Utterly meaningless, and I should probably spend more time reading, but… well, you know… They brought another game out called Dots & Co., which is unfortunately not available for the Fire (I could probably side-load it, though) but is available for the iPhone. I had it on mine for a while, but I kept fat-fingering the moves and my phone only has 8 gigabytes and I kept running out of room.

Mary and I have a fondness for old TV shows, as I’m certain you’ve figured out. Lately we spend the 9-10 PM hour during the week watching episodes of To Tell The Truth from the Fifties and Sixties and part of What’s My Line? from the same period (we switch at 10 to watch Hogan’s Heroes on MeTV) on the Buzzr network (it’s a subchannel of the local Fox affiliate). We have a little local religious broadcaster (they’re based in a strip mall about a mile from here, and their transmitter is half a mile away) that broadcasts ancient sitcoms in the evenings, along with a few goodies like The Les Paul and Mary Ford Show. Sunday nights, they run early black-and-white episodes of The Avengers with Patrick Macnee, Honor Blackmon, and Ian Hendry (they look like kinescopes), an early series of Sherlock Holmes with Ronald Howard and H. Marion Crawford as Holmes and Watson, with Archie Duncan as Inspector Lestrade, and just recently they started showing episodes of Sergeant Preston of the Yukon with Richard Simmons (no, not that one) as the title character. Sometimes I think I’ve died and gone to heaven….

So there’s my list. What are some of your recent faves?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

12 thoughts on “Some Recent Favorites (Writer’s Workshop)”

  1. Where to begin? First of all, Home Run Inn frozen pizza is our favorite too. We always seem to have one in the freezer. We are also avid viewers of American Pickers and Antiques Road Show. We are always on the lookout for older comedy movies starring such actors as John Candy, Billy Crystal and the like. Just finished an old one with Burt Reynolds called “The End.” I am also one of a vanishing breed of Bridge players ( for younger readers who might not be familiar with Bridge, that’s a card game ). That’s just a few of my favorite things.

    Like

    1. I remember “The End,” with Dom DeLuise. Have you ever seen “The Crew” with Reynolds and Richard Dreyfuss? Hilarious movie about retired wise guys who live in Florida.

      I never quite figured out Bridge. I had Chas. Goren’s “Teach Yourself Bridge” contraption (I think I saw yours and decided I wanted one, too), but couldn’t figure it out (I was ten?), and I used to read Omar Sharif’s column in the Sun-Times, but it was one of those cases of no one to play with. Grandma and Florence were a couple of fiends, I remember. I watched them play Mom and Dad once…

      Like

  2. Orange things. Oranges, orange tea, orange juice, orange sorbet, orange chocolate cookies. I’m on a kick.
    This Is Us and The Walking Dead. I don’t watch much tv, so it’s a weekend thing and I like to binge ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. They have a feature on their website where you can enter your zip code and it shows you where you can buy it. I hope a store near you carries it. If not, you can order a few from them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

