Memes, and Why I’m Staying Away From Facebook For A While #socs

Last August, I did a stream of consciousness entry on the brain and the mind. (The prompt that day was “mind.”) At that time, I compared a meme to a gene: where genes define physical attributes, memes define social attributes. At that time, I said a good example of a meme was “The Cubs will never win another World Series.”

Well, there goes that meme…

17474d3a52fd7efdada7b5896b5c5906

There are actually a couple of different types of memes, the kind discussed by Richard Brodie in his book Virus Of The Mind and the kind that appear on Facebook all the time. You know, like Grumpy Cat, Li’l Bub, the “ermahgerd girl,” and other things that don’t occur to me at the present time. On holidays like Veterans/Remembrance Day, you have the Facebook memes that ask you to like them if you want to thank the men and women currently serving in the Armed Forces for their service, and at other times the memes that demand you like and share if you think people need to get over it when you say “Merry Christmas.” Stuff like that, you know.

The memes were really flying during the last two years, what with the election and all that, and I notice that, even though the election is done and dusted, people are still fighting a war for the control of our minds. I’m sure it’s happening on the TV news channels and network news broadcasts, on the talk radio stations, in magazines and newspapers and especially all over social media, specifically Facebook and Twitter.

Now, I post messages to F&T every time I post here, because everyone wants to know when I post to the blog and not everyone knows about RSS syndication (incidentally, I’m back to Feedly, having bitten the bullet and paid for a year’s service, if anyone cares), so I try to go out and see the comments people leave me there, but I find if I spend more than a few minutes on them, my blood pressure rises and I feel the adrenaline start to rush and frankly I don’t need that. So today I removed Facebook and Twitter from my Kindle Fire (they weren’t on my phone; not enough room) and have resolved to stay off both of them until the holidays are over in early January. Hopefully by then things will have settled down.

I’ll still be posting here every day, of course, and if you aren’t in the habit of commenting here, it’s easy, and don’t forget The Sound of One Hand Typing FM, my simulcast blog on Blogger, in case you have trouble commenting here (or would prefer to comment there). See you around!


socsbadgecropped

Linda Hill brings you Stream of Consciousness Saturday each week over most of this station.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

24 thoughts on “Memes, and Why I’m Staying Away From Facebook For A While #socs”

  1. Some of the Facebook stuff has been rather disheartening. But I’d much rather see the anger and argument taken to FB in words rather than on the streets with violence, disruption, and screamed obscenities. Those protesters are not drawing many to their side and most likely are solidifying the resolve of the other side. Some people cannot avoid the consequences of civil disruption whereas we can opt not to go to FB or just scroll down the page to find the things that we’re okay with.

    Arlee Bird
    Wrote By Rote

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I know they are being stage as they were throughout Trump’s campaign. Various agenda groups have FB and other social media pages where the events are organized and followers heed the call to protest. There are pictures of buses bringing in the protesters. I hope an investigation is conducted especially to expose any direct connect that the DNC has to this especially considering the revelations concerning this that were shown through the WikiLeaks drips. I hope any of those responsible for damages are apprehended and forced to recompense those who had to deal with damages.

        Arlee Bird
        Wrote By Rote

        Like

  2. I’m close to deactivating my FB but can’t quite do it. I was off for a while and then jumped back on. This week’s election has brought out more anger than I really like to see and I’m certainly not interested in participating or reading it on FB. I, like you, am going to try to take a break from FB for a bit. Good news is that I get notices of your daily posts via e-mail so I’ll be reading!

    Like

  3. I saw a meme last night, supposed to be one of the present protests, but it was a photo from Ferguson. Of course, no one cared, so it was shared and reposted. sigh There’s a protest here tonight. I’ll be anxious to see the local news. I hope they post live footage and not, you know, some photo from 1969.

    Like

  4. I was always against Facebook, just finding it stupid. I had to subscrbe to be able to see the pictures my son put on facebook when my grandson was born, but I never posted anything. Then I discovered the page of a group of people of my town which i really like but I still prefer my blogs by far and haven’t become a Facebook addict yet, lol !

    Like

  5. Hi John – thankfully I never really got into FB … and I’ve been quite careful what I write and would still do that … I hope it settles down for you – but am glad you’re here … cheers Hilary

    Like

  6. People seem to use Facebook and Twitter to scream out views that previously they would have just said out loud in private (or, completely alone). Twitter seems worse, I think, because of the relatively anonymous nature. No one seems to listen and consider another opinion – in history lesssons at school, I remember having to consider historical texts with empathy. Empathy was a big thing, and got us extra marks. It seems a lost skill, today.

    Like

    1. I once said that there are people who, if they didn’t have Facebook and Twitter, they’d be muttering to themselves in the rear seats of buses. People are shouting things on social media they’d never have the nerve to say aloud in polite company. The rule used to be never to discuss religion or politics, but that’s all anyone talks about there. It’s called social media for a reason, but people (some, anyway) are totally antisocial there.

      Like

  7. I’m not a Facebook fan but my husband is. Some of the stuff on FB is just so disheartening. I am a beBee.com fan. It’s a middle of the road site between LinkedIn and Facebook and I really enjoy it. There’s political junk there too but not as bad as FB. One of the many things I like about beBee is the CEO is an active participant. If there is bullying, ugliness, and/or plagiarism, they will delete the users account.

    Like

    1. I can see where having someone involved who will stop any abusive or inappropriate behavior would be an advantage, although it would be better if everyone could conduct themselves like polite adults. But I guess that’s too much to hope for, isn’t it? πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve ended my Facebook boycott, mostly because it’s my main source of family dope, and there are a few groups I enjoy. I’m not spending a lot of time there, though; I don’t have the patience for it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

