Another Reason To Ditch Daylight Saving Time #1LinerWeds

Hopefully they’re not going to be fighting over it for the rest of their lives.

ABC News has a story about a set of twins born to a Massachusetts couple, Emily and Seth Peterson. The older of the boys, Samuel, was born at 1:39 AM on November 6, and Ronan, the younger, was born 31 minutes later. Normally, this wouldn’t be a problem, except Daylight Saving Time officially ended at 2 AM on November 6, and since Ronan’s birth happened ten minutes after the clocks changed, his birth was recorded at 1:10 AM. So, even though Samuel exited his mother’s womb before Ronan, as far as the records are concerned Ronan is the older twin.


1linerwedsbadgewes

One-Liner Wednesday is hosted each week by Linda Hill.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

18 thoughts on “Another Reason To Ditch Daylight Saving Time #1LinerWeds”

  1. Never thought of that kind of a circumstance, but I seem to never adapt to the changes as I get older. I’m up earlier than I need to be now because my biological clock is still on the old time. I really dislike these time changes.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. When DST ran from the last Sunday in April to the last Sunday in October, I had no trouble. It’s when they changed it to second Sunday in March to first Sunday in November that it started messing with me.

      Like

  2. I hate the “fall back” time of the year. I would we would spring forward and leave the time as it is. So tired of it getting so dark so early. It’s Winter, it gets dark early enough without mucking about with the clocks.
    As for the births. This is certainly more complicated than a set of twins being born 23:59 and 00:03 on December 31st and January 1st.
    Could you imagine that?

    Like

    1. I’ve heard of it happening, actually, where one twin will be born in one year and the other in the next, but this is the first time I’ve heard of Daylight Saving Time coming between them.

      Maybe we should go on world time (GMT, UTC, or Zulu, pretty much all the same thing).

      Like

      1. And new year’s eve is a terrible day for a birthday. I know someone who was born January 1st, too. They never got a decent party, because everyone was still hungover from the night before, haha.

        Like

  3. Don’t you wish common sense could have prevailed and they would have ignored the time change in this instance? If these twins are like my two boys it is going to cause big problems while they are growing up. Hopefully not so much once they are adults. And hopefully no lawyers will get rich on sorting any legal issues out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

