The Christ The King Week That Was

This edition of The Week That Was is sponsored by Columbia House. Now on VHS: The Collector’s edition of Star Trek, the original series!

VHS is all but dead now, as are offers like this one. I don’t know whether the appropriate response is tears or “Good riddance!”

The Week That Was

2016 is rapidly drawing to a close. This Thursday is Thanksgiving in the US, followed by Black Friday (the day department stores finally make it into the black, i.e. turn a profit), Small Business Saturday, The First Sunday of Advent, and Cyber Monday. Before you know it, it’ll be 2017 and time to start thinking about the A to Z Challenge.

A2Z-BADGE [2016]
Won’t be long now!

Anyway, off to this week’s summary…

This week ended up being a freebie, and it coincided with the passing of Leon Russell, one of the great names in rock and blues, so my post was a tribute to him. Mark, who I’ve known since high school, said he learned a lot about playing rock keyboards from him. Mark was already good before hearing Leon, so you can imagine now. He also remarked that it shows no one lasts forever, even though, at 19, they seem indestructible. Fortunately, Leon left a great legacy of music, but it’s still been a bad year, not just losing him, but also Glen Frey, David Bowie, Dan Hicks, and too many more to count. Maybe my theme for Two for Tuesday next year should be music from all the musicians we lost this year…

2fortuesdaybadge

This week I did a repeat of my Astrud Gilberto twofer from a year ago. I had too many more things on my plate to write a new one, and the lovely Ms. Gilberto was worthy of a repeat, anyway. Arlee said he’s been in love with her voice since first hearing “The Girl From Ipanema” when he was in junior high. She not only sings, she looks good doing it, too.

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

I’ll announce the winner of my latest Battle of the Bands, “Happy Days Are Here Again,” this Tuesday, so if you haven’t already done so, now would be a good time to vote. The contestants are Ben Selvin and His Crooners and Mitch Miller and his singers. On the former, listen past the first half of the video; the Crooners make an appearance then. As with a lot of older recordings, the band plays the first half and the singers pick up at the end. I haven’t paused to count just yet, but it looks pretty close so far.

1linerwedsbadgewes

I took my one-liner from a news story about a pair of twins who were born either side of 2 AM on November 6, the end of Daylight Saving Time, so although Samuel was born first, Ronan appears to be older. Dan wanted to know if Ronan would get all the privileges of the first born, even though he wasn’t. I hope they work something out before it becomes a problem. Wendy thinks common sense should have prevailed, and I reminded her that Daylight Saving Time is a creation of the government, meaning common sense doesn’t enter into it.

I chose “rust” as my prompt and discussed how rusty I am at technical things since I haven’t had to think about them in a couple of years, and of course had to get into a lengthy discussion of what the problem was and how I thought I needed to fix it. I tried again the next day, and lo and behold, everything worked great. And, as of last night, I built a spreadsheet with the post information, which you can see here. It’s complete through Monday. Admittedly, the post got into MEGO (My Eyes Glaze Over) territory, and Uncle Jack said he would go back to reading the obituaries in the Chicago Tribune. That prompted a story, which you can see in my reply to his comment. Dan, however, loves stories like this, and said he’d do such a project by sending himself an email every time it posted. There are a lot of different ways to do it; I’ve been using IFTTT to file them in Evernote and also append them to a text file in Dropbox. Janet said that, while she didn’t understand all the “mumbo jumbo,” it has inspired her to start keeping track of her posts. Believe me, it’s worth it.

It was a twofer Friday Five, meaning I came up with ten songs that were named for cities. You’re all doing a good job with coming up with more, so keep it up and I’ll feature your choices this Friday.

socsbadgecropped

Linda’s prompt was “yes,” so I talked about my tendency to say “yes” when I mean “no.” It seems to be a common problem. JoAnna liked the flash card idea. Seriously, it works. You might also make little signs and put them up all over the house, e.g. on your bedroom mirror, the mirror in the bathroom, across from and above the toilet, on the refrigerator door… Anywhere you’re sure to see it. The same works with affirmations, but I’m sure you already knew that. Janie said saying “no” was the best thing she ever learned.

I know I left a lot of comments out in this week’s summary. I did that in an effort to shorten this post. Please know I appreciate your taking the time to drop by and leave comments. They make my day.

Barring any sudden developments, Wednesday’s post will be #1500. I have nothing special planned. All the regular features this week, and who knows what else. Thanks for reading!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

10 thoughts on “The Christ The King Week That Was”

    1. It should be on the dashboard page, although they’ve made it harder to find because they want you to use their “simplified” ones. If you find it, your number of posts should be in the box on the upper left.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I didn’t know you had this. I’m going to have to start stopping by on Sunday’s too!!! Don’t forget to check out the theme in my sidebar for tomorrow. Have fun with it. hugs and have a great day!

    Like

    1. I’ve been doing this for a couple of years now. Just a recap of the week, along with an old commercial.

      I’ve already written tomorrow’s entry and it’ll be posted at 6 AM Eastern tomorrow. I’ll add it to the linky when I get a chance.

      Like

Leave a Reply

