Writer’s Workshop: Lists of Five

Today’s prompt is

Five Things. List 5 things we don’t know about you, 5 things you’re knowledgeable about, 5 things you know nothing about, and 5 things you believe.

Five Things About Me You Might Or Might Not Know

  1. I am the holder of the 1978 Production Management Key from Loyola University Chicago. I have no idea where it is, and Loyola no longer has a Production Management major. But trust me, I earned it.
  2. I’m really good at remembering numbers. I remember almost every phone number we had, my employee number from almost every job I had, both Mary’s and my Social Security numbers (she asks me when she needs it), multiplication tables up through twenty, various constants, such as pi to ten decimal digits (3.1415926535), Avogadro’s number (6.02 * 1023, the number of molecules in a mole), the square root of 2 to seven digits (1.4142135), various sines and cosines, the Golden Ratio (1.618), and 377426415375, which next year represents the first Tuesdays of each month. I learned that from my grandfather.
  3. I was born on Palm Sunday 1956. When it doesn’t fall on a Sunday in Lent, it’s the Feast of the Annunciation of Our Lord.
  4. I broke my right arm twice when I was a kid. The first time was when I was three and got pushed off a cabinet by a kid from down the street (I think I said I was Superman, and he wanted to see if I could fly). I was seven the other time; my brothers and I were horsing around and running around the house, and I slipped on a throw rug.
  5. My commencement ceremonies from grammar school and high school were both on June 6, four years apart.

Five Things I’m Knowledgeable About

  1. Math. It runs in the family.
  2. 20th Century Music. Well, maybe not rap or hip-hop, but most kinds.
  3. Baseball. It’s the only professional sport I follow. My favorite teams are the Chicago White Sox and the Atlanta Braves.
  4. Computers. I’ve worked with computers most of my adult life, and now I play with them.
  5. Business Travel. Mostly through experience, not all of it good.

Five Things I Know Nothing About

  1. Most Olympic sports. I’m really not interested in them. I do like figure skating, but that’s just to watch.
  2. Mountain climbing. Never done, have no desire to start now.
  3. Automobiles. I know how they’re supposed to work, but nothing about how to fix them when they don’t work like they’re supposed to. I was looking at cars once, and the salesman raised the hood and went into great detail about what was under it, and only stopped when I said, “That’s the engine, right?” I know enough to call AAA.
  4. Dancing. I’m like a crippled elephant. Mary and I once took a class at church, and after the second lesson the instructor, who’s a friend of ours, gave our money back.
  5. Basic Home Repair. When we bought the house, Mary made two rules: no paint, and no power tools. I inherited my father’s ineptitude at home repair. Although I can surprise myself sometimes, the fact is, I have neither the inclination nor the patience for it. I call the pros and pay them whatever they ask for to have things done. Remember “insure domestic tranquility” from the preamble to the US Constitution? Letting the pros do it is how I do my part.

Five Things I Believe

  1. Everything happens for a reason.
  2. Better over the hill than under it.
  3. God is great, beer is good, and people are crazy.
  4. In the land of the blind, the one-eyed are kings.
  5. We all have a story inside of us, and if people knew what it was, they’d be horrified.

Here’s Billy Currington with “People Are Crazy.” It’s where #3 comes from.

I’d be interested to hear how you’d fill in these blanks. Leave me a comment or link back from your blog.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

21 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop: Lists of Five”

  1. This was nice to read and it made me giggle especially the part about the dancing. Can you feel when the weather is changing..in your arm?? I believe in the last lines and do think everything happens for a reason as well. I just wonder why some people have to suffer something horrible( loss of an entire family for example) and what that reason would be. have a happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

  2. If you’re not going to know about something, Olympic sports is a good choice. You only have to duck every two years for two weeks, and one of them falls during baseball season, so you got that covered. Happy Thanksgiving, John.

    Like

    1. Exactly. In 1996, when the Olympics were in Atlanta, the Braves went on a West Coast trip, and I managed to see almost all the games, as well as a few White Sox games. I took vacation, we stayed close to home… it was great!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You and I share that list of “Things I know nothing about”. My father taught me virtually nothing about home repair. Once I hit my teenage years I was delegated to do the home repairs and assembling toys at Christmas. I guess I managed through those things okay, but still I’m not much of a handyman. Sometimes I’ve tried to do what I thought would be simple plumbing procedures, but almost always end up calling a plumber because I can’t figure out how to do what I thought was going to be easy.

    Sometimes I feel so inept and helpless.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  4. Billy Currington! My daughter would go around singing this song when she was two. Hilarious! Anyway, I, too, broke my right arm, but only once. I fell off a horse, so not as interesting as trying to fly.

    Like

  5. Ha! “God is great, beer is good, and people are crazy.” So true. . . and I don’t even like country music. 😉 As far as dancing goes, it’s never too late to start; but maybe you should try some different moves. . . just let the music speak to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love it. I agree, things happen for a reason. I laughed about the calling AAA part, as I always say the dirtiest my hands get around an automobile is the grease on my AAA card when the tow truck guy returns it. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Like

Leave a Reply

