The Friday Five: Your City Songs

Happy Day After Thanksgiving, or Black Friday, as they call it. I’m writing this Wednesday, so I don’t know how mine was, but I’m sure it was great. We ate, might or might not have gone for coffee (not sure if they were open yesterday), and did what we usually do on Thursday, I’m pretty certain.

Last week I chose ten songs whose names are cities, nothing more. I couldn’t think of any others, so I left it to you to come up with some more. I think I got five from you, so here are your choices.

Kansas City – Wibert Harrison Arlee suggested this one, and I’m surprised I didn’t remember it, because I used to play this, though my favorite version was Muddy Waters’ from The Muddy Waters Woodstock Album. The Beatles also did a version on Beatles For Sale, but Wilbert’s was the single that reached #1 in 1959.

Kalamazoo – Primus Arlee also suggested this one. I think it’s based on “I’ve Got A Gal In Kalamazoo”, but Primus has their own take on it, to which I say “hot corn!”

Gary, Indiana – Ronny Howard Dan suggested two songs, this one being the one that fit the theme. From the film version of The Music Man, starring Robert Preston, Shirley Jones, Buddy Hackett, and this little fellow, who went on to some pretty big things.

Albuquerque – Weird Al Yankovic Janie Junebug came up with this one, and I have to say, it’s different. But that’s Weird Al for you.

New York, New York – Liza Minnelli Joey came up with this one. Most people know Sinatra’s version; this is the one from the movie of the same name starring Liza Minnelli and Robert DeNiro. Mary and I saw this when we were engaged, at the Granada Theater in Chicago, now torn down and either senior housing or another Loyola University building.

Thanks to everyone who contributed! That’s your Black Friday 2016 edition of The Friday Five.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

4 thoughts on “The Friday Five: Your City Songs”

  1. More great songs. It wasn’t until after I pushed “post” that I fully realized the rules. I’m glad I got one in (let’s never speak of the other).

    I love the fan feedback!

    Like

Leave a Reply

