Christmas Music, huh? (Monday’s Music Moves Me)

In the last couple of years, I’ve done lots of Christmas music posts. I haven’t got my handy-dandy list of posts through two weeks ago, so I can’t say exactly when they were, but maybe when I get home, I’ll get a list together, maybe even build me a big ol’ playlist and tell you where it is. In the meantime, though, here are five songs that come immediately to mind, and no, “Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer” isn’t one of them. You may all breathe a sigh of relief.

Have A Holly Jolly Christmas – Burl Ives

Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree – Brenda Lee

Run, Run, Rudolph – Chuck Berry

The Twelve Days of Christmas – Allan Sherman

Merry Christmas Baby – B. B. King

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for November 28, 2016.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

19 thoughts on “Christmas Music, huh? (Monday’s Music Moves Me)”

  1. You’ve got some good ones here, John. The selection is too vast to narrow it down. You might want to try again, when you can rule out the ones that have been playing non-stop in every store/bar in town for a few weeks.

    Like

    1. Our favorite Starbucks is having trouble with their music system, and “A Holly Jolly Christmas,” “Run Run Rudolph” (not the Chuck Berry one, either), and another song played nonstop almost all afternoon yesterday. I have a bunch of Christmas music posts that have everything from the familiar to the obscure; I might even build a playlist with all of them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These are fun classics that appealed to me more when I was younger. Now this old codger prefers the old traditional carols and hymns. But still the modern novelty songs are entertaining in the right setting–they bring a smile and a cheery feeling.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. Christmas and music go together like peanut butter and jelly, and there’s something for everybody. The old hymns and carols are the first music just about everyone hears and the ones committed to memory the easiest, and have the effect of bringing you back to the first time you heard them. Mom had a bunch of Christmas records she’d put on every year on Thanksgiving and they’d be on heavy rotation until the Epiphany. I almost wish I had them now.

      Like

    1. Allan Sherman was my favorite music act until The Beatles came along. Even after that. I loved his song parodies; he was Weird Al for the 1960’s. No, wait, Weird Al is the Allan Sherman of today.

      Like

  3. Rockin Around the Christmas Tree is one of those you just can’t hear without gettin a lil groovy 🙂 Run, Run Rudolph would be high on that list, too.
    I enjoy Christmas music and my family hates that about me. It’s not like I listen to it non-stop, or out of season, but it’s nice to write cards and bake to …

    Like

  4. OH YEAH! MR. (THE MASTER) B.B. KING! OHHHHHHHHHHHH YEAH!!!! GO FOR IT BABY! UH HUH!!! You got it my friend Christmas Soul!!!!! MERRY MERRY CHRISTMAS BABY!!!! WOOOOO HOOOOO LOVE IT! Thanks for joinin’ us… and if we had a contest on the postings for today you’d be in first place!!!! dang!

    Like

  5. John, excellent Christmas classics! I have all of these songs on various CDs. Years ago, DH bought me a nice stereo system to use where I work the most – the kitchen/dining room and with the purchase he got me a couple dozen Christmas CDs. Ever since that time, he’s added to my collection. I have a nice stash of Christmas tunes to enjoy throughout the holiday season, which I’m enjoying at this moment. I fail to understand why some tire from listening to Christmas mewsic. It boggles my mind. Thank you for the great listening pleasure this afternoon, my friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

