BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Night And Day”

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

Falling back on another standard this week, the song is Cole Porter’s “Night And Day.” Written in 1932 for the show The Gay Divorce, later the Astaire-Rogers film The Gay Divorcee, it’s probably Porter’s most famous tune.

The battle is between a couple of singers who haven’t fared well in my battles. As good as they are, they’ve lost the battles they’ve been in. See, this way, one or the other will win. Clever, huh? Here we go.

CONTESTANT #1: Ella Fitzgerald Ella recorded this on Ella Fitzgerald Sings The Cole Porter Songbook.

CONTESTANT #2: Frank Sinatra The title track from Frank’s 1962 album.

Give these two great performances a listen and let me know in the comments which you prefer. Then, visit the other BotB participants and do the same for them.

Jingle Jangle Jungle
Mike’s Ramblings
Curious as a Cathy
Janie Junebug Righting & Editing
Tossing It Out
THE DOGLADY’S DEN
J. A. Scott
YOUR DAILY DOSE
STMcC Presents ‘BATTLE OF THE BANDS’ *
Angels Bark
Cherdo on the Flipside
DiscConnected

* Stephen has the current list of participants on his site

I’ll announce the winner next Thursday, December 8, so get your vote in by then. The lines are now open… Good luck to Ella and Frank!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

17 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Night And Day””

  1. I’ve got about 3 Battles lined up using this song and mine are still safe to use. There are so many great versions of this song.

    The Sinatra version was the one I was familiar with so I figured that was the one I’d vote for. Then listening to Ella and I was blown away. Besides her beautiful vocals I loved the drama, the pacing, the orchestration–the entire package.

    Ella gets an emphatic vote from me.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. You have chosen probably my two top singers of all time. This is like Muhammad Ali against Joe Louis. Babe Ruth against Henry Aaron. Tom Brady against Sammy Baugh. I vote for Frank Sinatra. Of course, I would vote for Sinatra against anyone.

    Like

  3. I’m actually surprised Frank Sinatra has lost some of those battles he was in. He’s a great singer.
    Which reminds me, I’m not voting for him.
    I love what Ella does with the song and her voice suits the song well. Please give my vote to Ella.

    Like

  4. Ella for me all the way! Sinatra was just too”drippy” for me. I couldn’t get into his long drawn out style. Ella was more in keeping with the style of the song

    Like

  5. DEPLORABLE JOHN ~
    If I recall correctly (and I think I do) I’ve used Ella in one Battle and Frank in two. Ella won hers, and Frank won one and lost one. So, it seems they do better for me than for you. (Maybe you’re not greasing their palms enough.)

    With only a few exceptions, I’ve never been a fan of the “Crooning” style of music. Therefore, I only really like a small number of Sinatra songs. (I own 2 of his CDs, neither gets played often.)

    And as much as I love Jazz, I’d never taken a whole lot of notice of Ella Fitzgerald. Yeah, I’d heard her, and even owned a couple of her recordings on Jazz compilation sets, but she was always just background music to me. I never really concentrated on her singing until BOTB began over 3 years ago. When she was used in Battles, I was REQUIRED to concentrate on her singing, and…

    ….WOW! I’ve come to realize over the last 3 years that Ella’s voice was phenomenal! She may have had the clearest, purest, “perfectest” voice of anyone! Frank can’t touch her.

    In fact, Frank slows the song down to the point where sometimes the lilting melody disappears. But the melody is like liquid light in Ella’s voice.

    ~ D-FensDogG
    ‘Loyal American Underground’

    Like

  6. As you say, one of them is going to finally end up a winner in this one!
    I think Ella knocks this song out of the park. The lilt in her voice is more appealing to me. She had me from the very beginning. It made made Sinatra’s “beat beat beat” and “tick tick tock” comparatively draggy. Funny how that works out.

    So, a round of applause for Ella and my vote!

    Like

Leave a Reply

