The Friday Five: WLS’s Bottom Five, Fifty Years Ago Today

I promised you that the next time I did a survey post I would take the bottom five of the survey and play those instead of the top five. As I was putting this together, I realized I had never heard any of these songs, at least not by the artist that recorded the one on the survey. My guess is, neither have you, which is why I do these posts.

#40: Just One Smile – Gene Pitney I have heard this one before, by Blood, Sweat & Tears from their first album, Child Is Father To The Man. It was written by Randy Newman. By this week, WLS had been playing it for six weeks, and it just entered the Silver Dollar Survey today. Nationally, it reached #64, though it reached #8 in the UK.

#39: (Come ‘Round Here) I’m the One You Need – The Miracles WLS had been playing this for five weeks, and on this week had fallen from #37. Nationally, it reached #17 eventually.

#38: There’s Got To Be A Word – The Innocence The Innocence were Peter Anders and Vincent Poncia and were previously known as The Videls and The Trade Winds. This reached #34 nationally, and had risen from #39 the week before at The Big 89.

#37: Louie Louie – The Sandpipers Their followup to “Guantanamera,” this reached #30 nationally, and had fallen from #28 this week, its eighth week on WLS’s Silver Dollar Survey. The Kingsmens’ version is the best known.

#36 – The Wheel of Hurt – Margaret Whiting Margaret had been a pop and country singer in the Forties and Fifties, and this was her second single after a five-year hiatus. Nationally, it reached #26 on the Hot 100 and #1 on the Adult Contemporary chart. It had been on the survey for five weeks and had fallen from #31 the previous week.

And that’s your Friday Five for December 2, 2016.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

6 thoughts on “The Friday Five: WLS’s Bottom Five, Fifty Years Ago Today”

  1. I haven’t heard of these (song-group combination) before, but I instantly thought of “Don’t Come Around Here No More” by Tom Petty when I saw “Come round here” so I’m giving myself partial credit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

