Schweppes and Sheldon #socs

First thing I thought of was the old Schweppes ad campaign, “Sch… you know who,” but that’s not “sh,” is it?

That’s William Franklyn starring in that ad. Here in the US, there was a bearded man that did the “sch…”ing. Couldn’t find one of those commercials.

I wonder how much longer they plan on keeping The Big Bang Theory going. Sheldon is really getting on my nerves. All of them are, actually. I think it’s run its course. Of course, Happy Days ran for like eight more seasons after Fonzie “jumped the shark,” where that expression comes from, so I guess we’ll just have to wait. I’m at the point where I’m looking for excuses to watch old game shows. Seriously, we watch NCIS and TBBT on network TV and that’s about it.

I’d write more, but I realized that, sh!t, I have nothing else to say…


socsbadgecropped

Stream of Consciousness Saturday is brought to you each week by Linda Hill and this station.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

23 thoughts on “Schweppes and Sheldon #socs”

      1. Well, you know that I’m don’t feel too constrained by those rules, but sometimes it just doesn’t work. I’m trying to write the dialog (at the bar) posts based on the SoCS prompt, but it usually doesn’t work. I end up having to edit the crap out of it in order for it to make sense. The story flows in SoC style, but the words, well, the words usually require a bunch of work.

        Still, I enjoy the challenge.

        Like

  1. My husband told me the other day that they were going to finally cancel Big Bang. I think maybe this is the last season, but I’m not completely sure. They haven’t gotten on my nerves yet. Well, they do, but in the way they’re supposed to. LOL

    Like

  2. Have you ever watched “Mom?” We watch it all the time and I read recently that the plan for each episode is to present a serious subject humorously. They do a great job of it, in my opinion. I don’t know if this comment is on point or not – just thought I’d throw it out there since you mentioned Big Bang.

    Like

    1. It’s stream of consciousness, and that’s where it took you, so no problem. We’ve watched “Mom” a couple of times, but didn’t like it well enough to keep watching. We’re finding that happens a lot lately…

      Like

  3. Love Big Bang. I haven’t seen all the new episodes yet because I mostly watch the re-runs. I think they have a bit to go since they’re adding a baby. I don’t remember those commercials but this one is pretty funny.

    Like

    1. I think it’s a British ad, so we wouldn’t have seen them here.

      We get TBBT reruns on a local station (the one that used to be WTBS before they spun it off), though we haven’t watched them in a while. The last several years have been disappointing…

      Like

  4. I still love Big Bang, but we usually record 4-5 and watch them all at once. We’re bingers. We go 4-5 days without tv and then binge. I’ve been watching The West Wing at bedtime, and I really like it. I’d only ever seen bits and pieces in internet clips, so it’s kinda neat to see it from the beginning.
    I still drink Schweppes. Black cherry 😛

    Like

    1. Mom drank gin and tonics during the summer, so we always seemed to have a Schweppes bottle around. I think of them more for ginger ale and bitter lemon; black cherry is a new one on me.

      I find that the older I get, the less TV interests me.

      Like

  5. We’ve been watching Buzzer TV for the old game shows (you do mention old game shows) especially What’s My Line and To Tell the Truth from the 1950s and 1960s. These are live to tape so the old commercials are included. Talk about time travel.
    TV shows usually go on longer than they should — only a very few are cancelled or stop in time to be remembered as perfectly.
    Lovely segues in your stream of consciousness today.

    Like

    1. We also watch What’s My Line? and To Tell The Truth, although we switch away at 10 for Hogan’s Heroes on MeTV. The old commercials are fantastic, but the best part is seeing people I remember seeing on those shows as a kid, knowing all of them have either passed on or are very old now. It’s funny, too, some of the contestants on TTTT are people we know about and we know which one is the real one. I spotted Rolf Harris (Australian comedian, cartoonist, and singer best known for “Tie Me Kangaroo Down, Sport”) and Bruce Tegner (martial arts expert who trained many actors for their roles), and Mary, who knits and crochets, recognized a woman who raises sheep and had written several books about wool and other fibers. That’s maybe the best part.

      I’ll be getting the book The Reporter Who Knew Too Much by Richard Shaw this week, which is a biography of Dorothy Kilgallen that probes into the circumstances surrounding her death. The official story was she mixed booze and pills and killed herself, but they think it might have had to do with interviews she did with Jack Ruby, who killed Lee Harvey Oswald, that might have had information people in the government didn’t want released. Miss Kilgallen is a favorite of mine, having come from Chicago not far from where she grew up, and I’ve always had the same suspicions. It’ll be an interesting read, I’m sure.

      Like

      1. We watch WML more than TTTT, so are familiar with that panel. We did research on the various members, and read of Kilgallen’s apparent suicide. I think it’s interesting she had interviewed Jack Ruby post Oswald — the book will be full of surprises no doubt.
        That’s interesting, too, your personal connection with her.

        Like

  6. I’m not a TV watcher except for sports. My husband likes NCIS, sports, movies and a couple of other shows. I spend my time on social media and listening to music.

    Like

    1. We got rid of cable a couple of years ago, and haven’t missed it. Be nice to see Braves games (all on cable now), but I can get just as much by listening to the radio feed and get a few things done besides. The local channels were all we were watching anyway. Of course, I still haven’t been able to get either of the public TV stations using the antenna I have, even with a boost, but we can live with that. Half their programming is self-improvement anymore.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We keep saying we’re going to get rid of Comcast but they lowered our bill by $39. – no contract. Plus I run 5 devices using their internet plan, which is quite reasonable. So, until we find something better I’m okay with it now.

        Like

    1. I have watched bits and pieces of it when I have been on tours with my friends who just love it. I have somehow not been attracted to Big Bang, Friends, Seinfeld etc… Only an episode here and there.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

