Two for Tuesday: Lena Horne

2fortuesdaybadge

I saw Lena Horne a lot on the variety shows of the Sixties and Seventies, and always thought she was beautiful, especially that smile of hers, and a voice to match. She was a singer, dancer, actress, and civil rights activist who started in the chorus line at the Cotton Club when she was just sixteen years old, and for seventy years was active in movies, television, and nightclubs.

“Stormy Weather” was a hit for her in 1943, reaching #21 on the US Pop chart.

“Love Me Or Leave Me” reached #19 on the Pop chart in 1955.

Lena Horne, your Two for Tuesday, December 6, 2016.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

17 thoughts on “Two for Tuesday: Lena Horne”

  1. I love Lena Horne and how I wish the times were different so she could have had the brilliant acting career that she deserved. I love Ava Gardner but I would have liked to have seen Lena in the role she played in Showboat. I love Stormy Weather…great song

    Like

    1. Lena’s parents were both mixed-race (Black, White, and American Indian), so yes, she would have been perfect for the role. It would hardly raise an eyebrow today, but those were the times, I’m afraid…

      Like

        1. They cost a fortune to produce, and people have other venues to get that kind of entertainment. I’d like to see some channel open that would replay some of those shows, particularly Dean Martin’s. He put on a spectacular show every week…

          Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d see her on the variety shows (particularly Dean Martin’s) and watching her sing was a real treat. Even when I was a teen and that style of music wasn’t popular, I knew she was something special.

      Like

Leave a Reply

