Monday’s Music Moves Me: Songs About the Mother of God

Seems there was this old priest who was taking his young vicar around the church, showing him where everything was. They’re up in the choir loft, and the old priest looks down and sees Maggie Guilfoyle, an elderly woman, kneeling in front of a statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary, saying the Rosary. “Get down,” the old priest says, “let’s have a little fun.” They hide behind the rail of the loft and the old priest says quietly, “Maggie! Maggie Guilfoyle!” The old woman pauses, then goes back to her Rosary. A little louder, the old priest says, “Maggie Guilfoyle! This is Jesus!” The woman raises her head and looks around, then returns to the beads. “Maggie! Maggie Guilfoyle! It’s Jesus Christ!” The woman turns around and bellows in a thick Irish brogue, “WILL YE SHUT UP! I’M TALKING TO YOUR MOTHER!”

In trying to think of a different angle for my Christmas posts this year, I realized that Mary, the Mother of Jesus, played a pretty big part in the holiday. It was she, after all, who spent those hours in labor giving birth to Our Lord. Mary’s kind of a big deal in the Catholic Church, and is venerated and honored as the intercessor between us and Jesus. Not that we can’t pray directly to God, but sometimes it’s easier to talk to someone more like us. Last Thursday was the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, which honors her as having been born without the stain of Original Sin; today is the Feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe, the day which commemorates her appearance to Juan Diego, a poor Mexican man; and New Year’s Day is called The Feast of Mary, Mother of God, a much more appropriate name than its original name, The Feast of the Circumcision of Our Lord, which honored Jesus’ bris.

Here are a few songs to Mary, Mother of Jesus.

O, How A Rose E’er Blooming – John Rutter and the Cambridge Singers

O Sanctissima – Bing Crosby From The Bells of St. Mary’s

Hail, Holy Queen – from Sister Act This is one of those songs that’s woven into the DNA of every Catholic. The portion in Latin is the words of “O Sanctissima,” I discovered.

Mary, Did You Know? – Pentatonix Pentatonix are wonderful, aren’t they?

Hail Mary, Gentle Woman A song by Catholic liturgical songwriter Rev. Carey Landry. No idea who the singer is, but she has a beautiful voice.

That’s Monday’s Music Movees Me for December 12, 2016.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

19 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Songs About the Mother of God”

  1. “Mary, Did You Know?” is a great song. Our worship leader sang a beautiful version in church yesterday morning–always a moving song to hear.

    My favorite Mary song would be Schubert’s “Ave Maria”–such an inspiration every time I hear it performed.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. We sang Hail Holy Queen in school and it was always one of my favorites. I had not heard the others but wow, got chills! Thanks, maybe I’ll go back to church 🙂

    Like

  3. John, I like the way you approached today’s 4M Christmas theme. You have some excellent song choices to honor Jesus’ mother. Oh, the opening funny made me smile! Any mother can appreciate that one and I betcha even Jesus got a chuckle of out it. 😀 Mary, Did You Know is one of my favorite songs. Pentonix does a great job but there are others that I like, too. We watched The Bells of St. Mary last December and we really enjoyed it. I love vintage classic movies! Thanks for sharing your Christmas mewsic with us today and for linking up with the 4M crew, my friend!

    Like

    1. My favorite scene in “The Bells of St. Mary’s” is the one where the kindergarten class is doing their Christmas pageant. At the end, Bing says “Beautiful, Sister, I wouldn’t change a thing,” and Ingrid Bergman says “Oh, but they will.”

      There was at least one other movie in that “Bing as priest” series, “Going My Way,” that ends on Christmas, where Bing reunites Barry Fitzgerald with his old Irish mother, that’s a real tear-jerker. Donald O’Connor is in that one and provides a lot of comic relief.

      Hey, “Mary Did You Know?” might make a good Battle of the Bands…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I heard Mary did you know not that long ago and I absolutely fell in love with it. It always gives me chills. This group does it the best I think. Thanks for posting it. Your other tunes are well chosen also. Great job my friend. You have great taste in music. I always enjoy coming over here just to see what you’ve posted. Have a great week and Merry Christmas to you & yours.

    Like

    1. Mary (my wife) loves “Mary Did You Know?” They do it at church during Christmastime, and one of the soloists sings it. I prefer the group approach (takes your mind off the soloist and focuses it on the song), and Pentatonix does a particularly good job of it. Glad you liked the choices! Now I have to figure out what to do for next week…

      Like

  5. I know Lo How Ere Rose ist Blumin and O Sanctissima very well. I know Sanctissima as O Du Frohliche ( umlaut over the O). These picks are so beautiful. Actually one of my favourite renditions of Ave Maria is from Going My Way when Rise Stevens sings it with the boys choir that Father Chuck created. For me, growing up with my German mom, we had a few German Christmas records and hearing the church bells and then the music they sang made things feel so wonderful. I love Ivan Rebroff as well. He was German who loved to think he was Russian and had a huge vocal range. I hope you can give him a listen to.

    Like

  6. Hi John,
    This is your Aunt Jinx. I loved Monday’s music. It truly moved me too. As you know I was born on December 6th and always
    thouggt I was named Mary Virginia because it was close to Mary’s feast on December 8th but Jeanne Marie tells me it was because it was one of mom’s favorite names. Moe and I have been singing Gentle Woman for years and always sang it at our Christmas Eve Mass. I loved listening to all your choices. Thanks for sharing! Love, Jinx

    Like

Leave a Reply

