THE FRIDAY FIVE: Your “Yellow” Songs

Got some great responses to last week’s post of songs with “yellow” in the title. My thanks to all who suggested songs.

Yellow Rose Of Texas – Roy Rogers My beloved Mary suggested this one. An old traditional tune, Roy’s cover was my favorite of the bunch.

Itsy-Bitsy, Teenie-Weenie, Yellow Polka-Dot Bikini – Brian Hyland Dan was worried that there were too many words in the title, but I didn’t care, as long as “yellow” was one of them. Carol and Jane from church suggested this one as well. This was a #1 for Brian in 1960, one of his three Top Ten hits.

Don’t Eat The Yellow Snow – Frank Zappa Janie recommended this one. Zappa didn’t have a lot of singles over the years, and this failed to crack the Top 40 when it came out in 1974. It’s part of a longer suite, but I just went with the song.

Yellow Bird – The Mills Brothers Kip’s exact comment was “You’d better include ‘Yellow Bird’ before one of the Aunts sees this!” They sang this one a lot back in the Sixties. I chose this because I don’t get to play The Mills Brothers very often.

Yellow – Coldplay Arlee suggested this one, and Joey said it was her “#1 Yellow song.” It was from their 2000 album Parachutes, and only reached #48 in the US, but reached #4 in the UK and #5 in Australia.

And that’s The Friday Five for December 16, 2016. Only nine days until Christmas!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

11 thoughts on “THE FRIDAY FIVE: Your “Yellow” Songs”

  1. John, I know all of these songs, except Coldplay’s. It’s hard to come up with songs off the cuff with a particular word in the title. The first one that comes to mind is Goodbye Yellow Brick Road by Elton John. I’m glad you posted the vid of The Mills Brothers vocal trumpets. I think I remember them doing this or maybe it was another group but I definitely think it’s cool and always thought it was interesting. Thanks for sharing your “yellow” songs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

