Debate, Lawyers, and Snappy Sammy Smoot #socs

I don’t know why I looked at “moot” and immediately thought of “smoot,” as in Snappy Sammy Smoot, the star of a number of underground comic books by Skip Williamson. I think I saw a picture of Sammy saying something like “Don’t wee-wee on your teevee.” I wasn’t much of an underground comic book aficionado. I just remember that one drawing.

Anyway, “moot” either means “arguable” or “irrelevant.” You see the term mostly in law, where moot means “of no legal significance” or “not presenting an open legal question.” You hear about “moot court” in law school, where they argue cases that have already been argued and settled. Sounds kind of pointless, but it gives them practice on controlling themselves when they want to get up and strangle opposing counsel.

There are a lot of lawyer jokes out there, most of them based in fact. For example:

What do lawyers use for birth control? Their personalities.

I shouldn’t badmouth lawyers. They’ll probably sue me or something. And if you’re a lawyer, I heard that joke from a lawyer. No offense intended.

I was on the debate team for a while in high school. I wasn’t very good at it. I got up in rebuttal once and asked the other team, “Are you out of your minds? What kind of a crackpot idea is that?” I quit to join the school band before they could throw me off the team. I wasn’t as bad as Ron White, though. Language advisory…

Oddly enough, a few years later I met one of the guys I had debated against. He said, “you must have won, we didn’t win much.” I said, “yeah, well you beat us.” And no, he wasn’t one of the people I said the above to.

You know what drives me crazy? When people confuse the words “moot” and “mute,” as in “It’s a mute issue.” That means it can’t talk, dummy.


socsbadgecropped

Stream of Consciousness Saturday is bought to you each week by Linda Hill and this station.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

8 thoughts on “Debate, Lawyers, and Snappy Sammy Smoot #socs”

  1. Never went in for debate much myself, too shy for public speaking. We saw Ron White a couple of times and he is pretty funny. I remember him doing that bit. Happy Saturday!

    Like

  2. I lurve debate šŸ™‚ I know and have known a lot of lawyers, but I’ve never lost an argument with one (unless I was in their employ šŸ˜‰ haha) I seldom say moot, either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

