Monday’s Music Moves Me: Happy New Year!

Happy Boxing Day! Today is also the Feast of St. Stephen, the first Christian martyr, who was stoned to death for his faith in Jesus Christ. A friend of Mary’s told us that she and her brothers would commemorate the day by throwing walnuts at each other. Makes me laugh just thinking about it. I wish we knew about that back when I was, say, ten…

Today is also the start of our favorite week of the year. Christmas is over, and it’s too late in the year to worry about anything. Put everything off until the start of 2017, that’s what I’m going to do this week. Speaking of which, by the time the next one of these rolls around, it’ll be 2017, so Happy New Year!

I was going to run around and find videos appropriate to the New Year, but it would seem that YouTube user Lindsay Koski has already done that, putting together a video of ten great New Year’s songs from the Forties, Fifties, and Sixties. Some were television performances, and where the song didn’t come with a video, she provided one, and went to the trouble of identifying each song at the start of each video. Thank you, Lindsay! Enjoy!

Happy New Year, everyone! That’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for December 26, 2015.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

16 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Happy New Year!”

  1. Awwwww Love the picks you’ve chosen for today! Wow The Lenon Sisters I haven’t thought about them in years… actually since I was little. Gramma and Mama use to watch them every single week on Lawrence Welk. hahaha Thanks for bringing back a wonderful memory!

    Like

    1. Actually, it was the lady who put the video together, but I enthusiastically approve of her choices! I saw the vid and said “this has everything I’d put in it if I were putting it together.” Grandma Holton and I used to sit and watch Lawrence Welk (by then either in reruns or syndication) on Sunday evening when she was at the house for dinner. I quite enjoyed it; it wasn’t the rock I was listening to then, but it was still entertaining. I was a big one for the variety shows (particularly Dean Martin, who put on a hell of show) in the Seventies, and also liked watching Arthur Fiedler and The Boston Pops back then. Great music, all of them.

      Like

  2. John, here we are in the final countdown till the end of this year, which seems to have slipped away like so many others. I am eagerly looking forward to the New Year, though. I feel there is much promise just around the corner after feeling like there was little to no hope for too long. I pray the good Lord blesses you in 2017 with health, happiness, and wealth (or at the very least comfortable). Have a good week, my friend and thank you for being a part of the 4M party!

    Like

Leave a Reply

