BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “This Could Be The Start of Something”

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

Happy New Year, everybody!

I chose an appropriate song for the start of 2017, “This Could Be The Start Of Something,” or, if you prefer, “This Could Be The Start Of Something Big.” It was written by TV pioneer and Renaissance man Steve Allen, who wrote over 8500 songs (by his estimate) in his career. He published it in 1956, though he had written it a couple of years earlier, as part of the score for the TV musical production of “The Bachelor,” which won him a Sylvania Award “For Outstanding Contribution to Creative Television Technique.” Steverino used this as the theme song for Tonight with Steve Allen until Jack Paar took over for him in 1957. This became Allen’s theme song, used for his shows after Tonight, including the CBS and syndicated versions of I’ve Got A Secret.

It’s been recorded a number of times, both as a vocal and an instrumental. Today, we have two vocal versions.

CONTESTANT #1: Lambert, Hendricks, and Bavan

I got the idea for this battle from watching a rerun of To Tell The Truth from December 31, 1962. One of the teams of challengers (as Bud Collyer called them) were women claiming to be Yolande Bavan, who had replaced Annie Ross in the jazz vocal group Lambert, Hendricks, and Ross earlier that year. After her round, she was joined by Dave Lambert and John Hendricks and they did the song. One thing that had me scratching my head was a comment made by Tom Poston, a member of the panel and formerly a regular on The Steve Allen Show, who said that Louis Nye, not Allen, had written it. Anyway, this is from LH&B’s 1963 album Recorded “Live” At Basin Street East.

CONTESTANT #2: Steve Lawrence and Eydie Gormé

Steve Allen thought that no one sang his song better than Steve and Eydie, both of whom have been winners in previous battles. This became their (unofficial) theme song.

So, which of these did you like better? The jazz stylings of Lambert, Hendricks, and Bavan, or the Las Vegas lounge style of Steve and Eydie? I like ’em both about the same for different reasons, so don’t look at me. Listen to both versions, decide which you prefer, and vote in the comments below, telling me why you chose that one (that part is optional). Then, how about visiting the blogs listed below, who are probably running battles today as well?

Jingle Jangle Jungle
Mike’s Ramblings
Curious as a Cathy
Tossing It Out
THE DOGLADY’S DEN
J. A. Scott
YOUR DAILY DOSE
STMcC Presents ‘BATTLE OF THE BANDS’ *
Angels Bark
Cherdo on the Flipside
DiscConnected

* Stephen has the current list of participants on his site

I’ll announce the winner of this battle next Sunday, January 8, so be sure and get your vote in by then.

The lines are now open. Good luck to Lambert, Hendricks, and Bavan, and to Steve and Eydie!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

14 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “This Could Be The Start of Something””

  1. Oh, this is not a battle. Steve and Eydi have this all the way. I didn’t know Steve Allen was a song writer. Add that to the growing list of stuff I’ve learned on Day-1.

    Happy New Year John!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Was he ever a songwriter! This is just his best-known song. I’ve also seen him play the piano, clarinet (he played the title role in “The Benny Goodman Story”), trumpet, and vibraphone, written Lord knows how many books and comedy sketches… he was the ultimate Renaissance man.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a song that has a lot of meaning in my life. For one thing, when I was a relatively wee lad I was a regular viewer of the Steve Allen Tonight Show (when school wasn’t on). I loved Steve Allen. He was such an innovative and funny fun guy.

    Also this song was one that my father used for our hoop passing routine in our juggling act, so, believe me, I heard this song a lot and never tired of hearing it.

    That first version by the trio is exciting and well executed. I’d never heard this version before, but it’s not a version that particularly attracts me. It’s probably better heard in person than on the recording.

    I’ve got to go with Steve and Eydie on this tune. They add the pizzazz without going all over the place with it like the other group. Smooth and cool they are and that’s what I prefer to hear on this cool song.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  3. Happy Margarita Day, JOHN!

    I did know that Steve Allen was a songwriter but — HA! — I did NOT know he’d written THIS one. The stuffs we learn from BOTB, eh?

    I have never really liked Lambert, Hendricks & Ross, and it appears I don’t like Lambert, Hendricks & Bavan any better. That vocal style does not appeal to me. In fact, it almost makes me feel jittery.

    My Ma absolutely LOVED Steve & Eydie, and like everyone else so far, I’m gonna give ’em my vote also. That sort of crooning isn’t usually my mug o’ beer, but Steve & Eydie did have terrific voices, with lots of energy and great chemistry together. Hard to argue against that, my friend.

    I hope you have a safe and healthy year, John!

    ~ D’plorable D-FensDogG

    Like

  4. I knew Steve Allen wrote songs and a lot but not 8,500! I go for Steve and Edie also because I love the way they styled it and their voices works so well. The trio were good but then they started to go all over the place, in my head anyway….the beat scene:)

    Like

  5. Steve and Eydie by a mile, ha ha. One more “battle” that could have partially taken place in our living room when I was growing up. My Dad loved ’em (and my Mom listened to whatever my Dad wanted to listen to…we all did!).

    Nice way to ring in the New Year! Happy New Year and God bless for 2017!

    Like

  6. John, Oh I definitely love Steve and Eydie. This is one husband and wife duet I always enjoyed listening to as a kid and recently DH bought me their iTunes Christmas album which I really liked. Please give my vote to Steve and Eydie. Great battle and again happy new year to you, my friend!

    Like

  7. I may have told you this already, but my favorite Christmas album my mom played was Steve and Eydie. So, my vote for them here comes as no surprise. I didn’t care for the first one at all, but loved SandE.

    Like

Leave a Reply

