The Friday Five: Garage Bands from 1966

Lori Carlson (whose blog you should be reading) commented on Sunday’s post about The Spiders From Mars, the name of David Bowie’s backup band. In my reply, I said it was a better name for a band than The Electric Prunes, the name of an actual band from the Sixties. Her reply made me think “I don’t think she realizes it’s a real band,” so I sought out their one hit to show her. Well, YouTube started suggesting bands to me, and before I knew it, I had my Friday Five. I give you five garage bands who had hits in 1966.

I Had Too Much To Dream Last Night – The Electric Prunes The Electric Prunes were from Los Angeles, and classified their music as “free-form garage music.” This song reached #11 in the US and #49 in the UK in 1966. They did have another record that charted, “Get Me To The World On Time,” that reached #27 in the US, which surprised me, because I don’t remember hearing it.

Pushin’ Too Hard – The Seeds Also from LA, The Seeds are the band that brought the term “Flower Power” to the mid-Sixties counterculture. This was released in 1965 and went nowhere, then was re-released in 1966, when it reached #36.

(We Ain’t Got) Nothin’ Yet – The Blues Magoos The Blues Magoos were from The Bronx, New York, and were at the forefront of psychedelic music. This was their lone big hit, reaching #5 in 1966.

Psychotic Reaction – The Count Five These guys were from San Jose, California, and sometimes wore Dracula capes when they played. They’re best known for this song, released in 1966, though there’s no indication it ever charted nationally. I found it on the KFWB (AM 980 Los Angeles) surveys, where it debuted on August 30 at #28 and reached #1 on September 27.

Talk Talk – Music Machine Another band from Los Angeles, this was their first record, released in 1966. It failed to reach the Hot 100, but at KFWB, the song debuted at #34 on October 4 and went as high as #5 on October 25.

So, there’s your Friday Five for January 6, 2017.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

16 thoughts on “The Friday Five: Garage Bands from 1966”

  1. Great selection! I love all these ‘older’ groups and learning about them. I was especially drawn to The Count Five. I was only a year old in 1966, but my oldest sibling was 11 years older than me, so it’s possible that I heard some of these tunes. They are certainly in the wheelhouse of the type of music that they listened to.

    ~Mary

    Like

    1. I had never even heard of the last two bands (The Count Five and The Music Machine) until I wrote this, although the song by Count Five sounded familiar. They were popular in Los Angeles, obviously, but very few other places. Weird.

      Like

  2. I was listening to KQV on my transistor radio in 1966, and I remember some of these. I know there were others, but I can’t remember their names (unless you tell me, or I look them up).

    Like

          1. It was an interesting time for AM radio, John. Some stations went from barely being listened to, to powerhouse, almost overnight. In the early 70s, the same thing happened in the FM market.

            Like

    1. I think those last two bands were known on the West Coast but nowhere else, although the Music Machine video came from “Where The Action Is,” which aired on ABC stations in the mid-Sixties, so it was likely seen in other parts of the country. If I saw it, I probably wasn’t impressed.

      The Sixties, especially after ’65, were not times of great fashion or hairstyles, were they?

      Like

  3. I liked all of these bands and the garage band movement in general. This was where the psychedelic movement got its start and I love psychedelia. One of my favorites was 13th Floor Elevators. The first time I saw The Seeds was on the afternoon music show Where the Action Is. They had some of the longest hair of any band at the time and their music was crazy man.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. In Chicago, we had “Where The Action Is” on channel 7 and Lloyd Thaxton’s show on channel 5 after school. For some reason, I remember watching Lloyd most of the time. Guess he offended Mom less.

      Like

  4. Great selection. The fashions and hairstyles were interesting. IMO, today’s fashions and hairstyles aren’t much better. I believe it depends on one’s generation and how and where they were raised.

    Like

Leave a Reply

