There’s A Man Who Leads A Life Of Danger #JusJoJan

Johnny Rivers, from 1966:

The comments point out that it sounds like he’s singing “Secret Asian Man,” and you know, they might be right.

Sixties TV fans recognize this as the theme for Secret Agent, which starred Patrick McGoohan as John Drake. The show started as Danger Man, which ran from 1960-1961 and also starred McGoohan as Drake. McGoohan later starred in The Prisoner, where his name is not given (other than “you are Number Six”) but it’s a safe bet it’s also John Drake. Those were great shows…

This was also a great show, or at least part of one:

Everybody sing!

When you find youself in danger,
When you’re threatened by a stranger,
When it looks like you will take a lickin’, (puk, puk, puk, puk)
There is someone waiting,
Who will hurry up and rescue you,
Just Call for Super Chicken! (puk, ack!)
Fred, if you’re afraid you’ll have to overlook it,
Besides you knew the job was dangerous when you took it (puk, ack!)
He will drink his super sauce
And throw the bad guys for a loss
And he will bring them in alive and kickin’ (puk, puk, puk, puk)
There is one thing you should learn
When there is no one else to turn to
Call for Super Chicken! (puk, puk, puk, puk)
Call for Super Chicken! (puk, ack!)

(lyrics courtesy ST Lyrics, with some minor adjustments to the number of “puk”s)


Today’s Just Jot It January prompt, danger, was supplied by Matthew over at MWLange. Thanks, Matthew!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

17 thoughts on “There’s A Man Who Leads A Life Of Danger #JusJoJan”

  1. I remember this song well as it was imprinted on my brain at such a tender age. But I never imagined the guy singing it to be smiling so much, considering the lyrics.

    Like

    1. The producer of the show probably told him “look, Johnny, you’re lip-synching and your guitar ain’t plugged in, smile for the girls, for God’s sake!” Mary and I saw him in concert the summer before we left Chicago (29 years ago!) and I don’t remember him smiling so much. He shared the bill with the late great Roy Orbison… talk about your great concerts…

      Liked by 2 people

  2. LOL not sure about Super Chicken but I did see Johnny Rivers also when I was young. Saw him with Blood Sweat and Tears in Las Vegas. I was only about 15 or 16 I think. Bet your concert was great!

    Like

  3. I played Johnny Rivers for my wife (swoon). She didn’t remember Super Chicken. Center feature, in between George of the Jungle and Ton Terrific I think. My best friend loves yo quote: “as Super Chicken said to Fred, ‘ you knew the job was dangerous when you took it’ ” Gresst memories, John.

    Like

    1. Tom Slick! That was the third cartoon. If memory serves, Tom Terrific only showed on Captain Kangaroo, because CBS owned Terrytoons. Terrytoons did produce some great cartoons, including Heckle & Jeckle and Mighty Mouse. And Dinky Duck, who I was convinced I was…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, you’re right,. Tom Slick – thank you. Tom Terrific didn’t sound right to me, but… I loved Heckle & Jeckle – I still periodically say “Indubitably” the way one of them did.

        Like

        1. Heckle & Jeckle were great. You never knew which was which, only that one had a British accent and the other a Brooklyn accent, but you had no idea which had which. My favorite was the one where they realized they were cartoon characters and thus the rules of the real world didn’t apply: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VIpTVU3Ddlo

          Of course, they were living in a cartoon world, so the rules didn’t apply to anyone else there. There are a bunch of H&J’s on YouTube.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. I vaguely remember Super Chicken. I used to enjoy Danger Mouse, though. And I’ve always like the Secret Agent Man song, my mom used to listen to it quite a bit when I was growing up.

    Like

    1. I never saw Danger Mouse; I guess it didn’t come out until the Eighties. Plus if it was on a cable channel, I wouldn’t have seen it until the mid-Nineties. There are a few videos on YouTube that I should watch…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

