My Right Hand #JusJoJan

Today’s word in the Just Jot It January blog hop is “tingle,” sent to us by Tessa at Always A Writer.

2017-01-12-14-07-50
Yes, this is my right hand.

One of the effects of the stroke is that I have a constant tingling in my right hand, the one which no longer works except for some very basic use. I’ve adapted to this, thus the name of the blog, but sometimes it’s frustrating that I can’t use it as well as my left hand. I’m sure, had I been patient and worked with it more consistently, I would have regained at least some usability with it, but face it, I’m not a patient person, and get frustrated and give up if things don’t go exactly perfectly.

It’s been ten years, and frankly, this not being able to use it is bullshit. Pardon my French, but it is. If I started now, maybe by the end of the year I’ll have regained enough mobility and dexterity in it to at least hold a pen and write, and hold a guitar pick and play.

You know, I ain’t doing anything else. Maybe I’ll give it a try.

Anyone dealt with hand issues? What did you do to regain the use of it?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

31 thoughts on “My Right Hand #JusJoJan”

  1. When I broke my pinkie on a trail I hadn’t hiked in 50 years, they put my entire hand in a cast. After the cast and the splint that followed, I had a finger I couldn’t bend very well. I just kept bending it and lashing it in the bent position for at least a few minutes each day per instructions from the head torturer, er, physical therapist. I’m unable to pull it down with the rest of my fingers for a fist, but I’m not punching anything anyway.

    After a 1996 head-on auto accident and TBI, I lacked fine hand coordination at the piano. No more Bach, Chopin, or Boston’s Foreplay/Longtime. I kept playing a little each day and it got better, but not what I used to have.

    Most of my troubles came from worrying about personality changes I was told to expect (I’m still as crazy as I was) and fatigue after that accident. I was an object of pity (including my own) and lost that arrogant confidence that I could do anything.

    My breakthrough came when a good friend told me it was time to leave victim consciousness and move on to survivor consciousness (thanks, Douglas). That helped more than anything else.

    The hardest part was accepting the physical and mental changes. A later bike skid with broken ribs and a collapsed lung marked the last time I pretended to be immortal, in December 2002. My dad had died earlier that month, and LTC walked me out the door three weeks later. That change had been coming for a long time, but stubbornness and fear had kept me in engineering jobs I no longer enjoyed.

    So I learned to get around the challenges, and seek out new ones. I’m still pretty stubborn and occasionally fearful, but I’m alive and moving forward.

    And that’s the key, John – everything follows from attitude. If you’d like to play a guitar again, you’ll find a way to do it.

    Like

  2. I hope your hand isn’t painful, other than the tingling. My husband had hand surgery over a year ago. It took awhile with PT, but it is better now. It was on his right hand, too.

    Like

    1. I think I stopped therapy (both physical and occupational) too soon (the money ran out), and didn’t stick with it afterwards. Part of it is my fault. It doesn’t hurt, fortunately.

      Like

  3. I feel for you. I have some neuropathy that causes tingling, then I have the anxiety disorder that causes tingling, and I have the near-constant pain of arthritis. One of my biggest fears is losing the use of my hands. 😦
    If there are things you can do to get more use out of it, I think you should definitely go for it. A year’s work… it could make for an interesting read…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m not going to do anything major with it. I mean, my pitching days are over… but if I could at least be able to use a pencil, a knife and fork together, and hold a guitar pick well enough to play, I’d be pleased. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The closest I’ve come was when I had my frozen shoulder. I couldn’t use my right hand because I could never get it where I wanted it. It really is worth the effort, John. Think of the sense of accomplishment you’ll feel, besides being able to use your hand again. You might even have to rename your blog! 🙂

    Like

  5. Try therapy and you might surprise yourself. A younger brother of mine had an accident that shattered his right hand. An intensive surgery was done and for years that hand was not functioning. In fact a doctor had recommended amputation initially before another surgeon performed the surgery. Several years back he started a painful physiotherapy that took time but he’s recovered full use of the hand.

    Like

  6. Wow…that is quite the hand and I feel so bad for you that you have to deal with this crap. The tingling sucks..I have that especially when I wake up in the morning, the tingling usually up into the arms with the pain. Due to my condition, I have this plus could never have the strength to open up jars and I can easily sprain my hands…sucks doesn’t it. When I injured my hand( my Panama hand), I went for physio and I got this putty, almost like silly putty and I squish it first making a fist and then I use my thumb and each finger press the goop between each finger. After I roll it as if I’m making a pretzel. It helps

    Like

  7. I fell on my left hand a few months ago and it’s been a long time healing. I exercise it by making a fist and flexing my fingers. I also give it a good massage when applying hand lotion. It’s improving every day. I’m not very patient either so I can imagine how you feel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

