Let’s Pretend #socs #JusJoJan

Pretend you’re in a different world. Writers do that, don’t they? A world that doesn’t exist outside of their minds, which they document for others to see. If the reader is lucky and the writer has done his/her job, the reader can spend an afternoon walking around in the writer’s head.

One of the reasons I have given up on writing fiction is that I could never get the world I create out of my head and onto the page. Maybe because I am so familiar with the world in my head I feel the need to explain and overdescribe what’s there. And maybe, just maybe, I like the idea of having my own world, and would prefer not to share it.

I’ve noticed since my stroke that my dreams are more vivid and make less sense, and it’s a lot of fun. It’s been kind of quiet lately, but I’ve had a few interesting rides on the “L” (the Chicago Transit Authority’s Rapid Transit lines) that have taken me to hotels that are stores that are malls that are office buildings that are Lewis Towers and St. Ignatius High School, and sometimes I walk into a room and I find myself in a hall at New Trier West High School, or maybe a boiler room or a cafeteria line or the kitchen at a restaurant, and I’ll walk into a restroom and be in someone’s office…

You get the idea: I’m nuts. Cracked. Psycho.


socs-jjj

The theme for Stream of Consciousness Saturday and today’s Just Jot It January was the letter P. I get extra points, even though the letter “p” is silent in “psycho,” because the first word and last word both started with P.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

13 thoughts on “Let’s Pretend #socs #JusJoJan”

    1. My guess is you dream, but don’t remember your dreams. The brain repairs itself when you sleep, and dreams are a result. In my case, I’m sure it’s all the meds I take that helps me remember, but I never used to remember them.

      Like

      1. Yep. Everybody dreams. I remember that from one of my psych classes. I remember mine more if I sleep late because then, my sleep is lighter. If you don’t remember your dreams, it’s probably because you were sleeping deeply. When I kept a dream journal next to my bed, I remembered a lot more – interesting stuff. But sometimes it was just scribble. That was in the days of yore – before computers and cell phones we could type on or dictate to.

        Like

        1. I used to keep a cassette recorder (remember those?) by the bed, but the first time I tried using it, my mother wanted to know who I was talking to in the middle of the night. After I got finished explaining everything to her, I forgot what the dream was about. That kind of ended that. I try not to look at my phone at night, going so far as to leave it charging in my office.

          Dreaming is a by-product of the self-repair the brain does at the end of the day (connecting synapses and whatnot). Whether or not you remember them, they’re there.

          Liked by 1 person

  1. It never occurred to me that dreams would be affected from having a stroke, but now that you mention it, it makes perfect sense. (I’m a stroke certified RN, by the way). Thanks for teaching me something new!

    Like

    1. Exactly. It’s a brain injury (mine was a hemorrhage instead of a clot), meaning things get routed around the bad piece and sent through new channels, kicking up all kinds of new stuff. I don’t know if that’s the official textbook explanation, but that’s my experience…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

