The British Invasion (Monday’s Music Moves Me)

Naila-Moon left one in my wheelhouse, to use a baseball expression, when she declared this week’s music to be all about “The British Invasion”! From February through July of 2015, I did a series on The British Invasion for Two for Tuesday. Here was the badge, in fact…

The full list of all of my Two for Tuesdays has links to all the posts I did for it. Search for “British Invasion” when you get there. As is often the case, some of the videos are gone, but enough are still there. I purposely avoided The Beatles, not because I didn’t want to feature them (I did), but because the shysters lawyers for something called WMG made everyone take their videos down under threat of death a lawsuit. Fortunately, their music is being posted on Vevo (apparently with the approval of WMG), so we can share some of it here.

Free As A Bird – The Beatles This song kicked off Anthology 1. Apparently Yoko found a tape John made before he died, and gave it to Paul, George, and Ringo to see what they could do with it. They listened and turned it into a masterpiece. You want to know how they might have sounded if they stayed together? Here it is. As far as I know, it’s the only song attributed to all four Beatles.

19th Nervous Breakdown – The Rolling Stones The Beatles were always seen as the clean and innocent group, whereas The Rolling Stones, not so much. There was always this “Beatles vs. Stones” rivalry that the teen fan mags tried to create, but they were actually friends and it was Lennon & McCartney that inspired Keith Richards and Mick Jagger to write their own songs, such as this one.

Because – The Dave Clark 5 Another fan mag rivalry was between The Beatles and The Dave Clark 5, mostly because “Glad All Over” knocked “I Want To Hold Your Hand” out of the top spot on the British charts, but again, they sounded different: where The Beatles typified the “Liverpool” sound, the DC5 typified the “Tottenham” sound. (Thanks to Dan for pointing out the mistake in the link.)

A Summer Song – Chad & Jeremy Chad Stuart and Jeremy Clyde might be best remembered as the singing duo whose voices were stolen by Catwoman (Julie Newmar) in an episode of Batman (it was just on a couple of weeks ago), but they had a number of hits in the Sixties and are one of my favorite singing duos.

There’s a Kind of Hush – Herman’s Hermits The adorable Peter Noone, called “Herman” because a pub owner thought he looked like Sherman from “Peabody’s Improbable History,” and his group had a string of hits in the Sixties. I got this record for my eleventh birthday from a friend of mine, and it was one of my favorites. (Hard to believe it was fifty years ago…)

And that’s this week’s Monday’s Music Moves Me.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.

Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

18 thoughts on “The British Invasion (Monday’s Music Moves Me)”

  1. I had not heard the Beatles song before. Sounds like it could be a tribute to John. Had a mini crush on Peter Noone. Thanks for sharing these! Nice start to a Monday.

    Like

    1. John is on that song, doing the lead vocal and playing piano. The other guys took John’s tape and worked their parts into it. There was a second song, “Real Love,” that was done the same way. The first time I heard the songs, I was flabberghasted. It wasn’t John, Paul, George, and Ringo doing it, it was The Beatles. It was as though they picked up from where they left off in 1970.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. John, Oh yeah! You really pulled some excellent tunes from the ole 60s British Invasion. I loved Hermans Hermits as a kid and still am rather fond of them. The Dave Clark 5 , as well as Chad & Jeremy, are more favorites I forgot about until recent years when they popped up on my radar after many years. Thanks for sharing these excellent selections with the 4M crew today. Have a good week, my friend!

    Like

    1. I stayed mostly with bands that were part iof the first wave and ones that were very popular. When I did my British Invasion series I learned about some of the lesser-known bands and the ones that have more of a cult following, like The Kinks. Glad you enjoyed it!

      Like

    1. The British Invasion started when I was 8, and I started learning as much as I could about the bands and artists. The tough thing is separating British bands from American bands who made themselves sound like British bands (perfect example: the Buckinghams, who were from Chicago but made themselves look and sound like they were British). Thanks!

      Like

    1. Really? Actually, it’s quite possible you’ve heard a song by them and just never knew that was who did it, or you might have known the songs and thought they were done by someone else. I go for years loving a song and having no idea who did it, then I learn who did it and say, “that’s them?” Or I’ll go for years thinking a song is done by one group when it’s done by another.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I never kept up much with pop music until the arrival of the British Invasion when I was in middle school. Suddenly I was drawn to the pop/rock genres of music and began collecting music that differed from what my parents had in their collection. The invasion of the Brits opened my eyes to the interesting sounds that could come from rock and pop and as the variety of the music grew, so did my interest in it. I think there was a greater sophistication that was introduced to the youth music scene and that captivated me.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. You don’t have Anthology 1? It’s what kicks off the album. Still, the best part is the video, watching to see if you can pick up the song references. They didn’t include that on the CD, unfortunately.

      Like

        1. I haven’t listened to it recently either. That’s probably the strongest of the three, although 3 has some interesting moments (outtakes from the white album and Abbey Road).

          Like

Leave a Reply

