A Few Words About Glass #socs #JusJoJan

socs-jjj

So today’s word is “glass,” for both Stream of Consciousness Saturday and Just Jot It January. It got me to thinking about that expression “Is the glass half-empty or half-full?” I found a couple of image quotes that I saved from Facebook (or Twitter or someone else’s blog) that seemed apropos…

f_mjwt20lvxtcfehf0ya1rd47ymryg-g6ktynaybfrs

This one has nothing to do with half-empty or half-full, but I thought it was funny.

Then I thought, “Wasn’t there a band called The Looking Glass?” There was, and they had a million-selling single in 1972. See if you remember this one.

They had another minor hit the following year, “Jimmy Loves Mary-Anne,” which reached #31.

This Stream of Consciousness Saturday post has been brought to you by Windex. Windex gets glass so clean, it seems to disappear!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

23 thoughts on “A Few Words About Glass #socs #JusJoJan”

  1. haha that one about us being the alien child’s science project! …Oh, I always liked the song, “Brandi You’re a Fine Girl”, but didn’t know who sang it. Thanks! 🙂

    Like

  2. Love the glass full/empty quotes. I remembered Brandi but had never heard Jimmy Loves Mary-Ann. Definitely got my feet tapping. I had to listen twice though to catch what the story was about. Happy Saturday, John.

    Like

  3. I don’t care one way or the other, I’ll just finish my pint and go home to sleep it off.

    “…But my life, my love and my lady… is the sea.”

    Like

      1. John – really enjoying your blog. It feels like a conversation with you, something I miss sometimes. You were always a bright part of a somewhat grey high school experience.

        Like

  4. I like all these quotes but the last one had me laughing because I could see it being true. I know athe first song well but not the second one. I love these old commercials and we all use winded but when I spray it, I actually can’t breathe so I have to be so careful…or just use water and vinegar.

    Like

    1. They used to make Windex with ammonia; I’m not sure if they still do, but ammonia is a pretty strong irritant. You’re probably better off with vinegar, which is a miracle cleaner, anyway.

      I really do think that our universe is the plaything of an alien race. I also think when you die you get redeployed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

