How Much Wood Would A Woodchuck Chuck If A Woodchuck Could Chuck Wood? #socs

groundhog
A couple of groundhogs

The answer, according to Wikipedia, is “A woodchuck would chuck as much wood as a woodchuck could chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood.”

A classic Beatles song from the Rubber Soul album is “Norwegian Wood.” It was one of the first songs that George played sitar on. I wasn’t able to find the actual single (WMG was at it again), but someone posted a bootleg out on YouTube.

Today is Mary’s and my 39th wedding anniversary. It’s not the wood anniversary; Mary tells me it’s the yarn anniversary. I’m not sure what anniversary it is, to be honest. Doesn’t matter, we still love each other. We used to say that it wasn’t a marriage so much as a fight to the death, then I had my stroke and, well, we stopped saying that. Just out of curiosity, how many of you are 39 or younger?

For those of you wondering why we got married in January, when it’s cold and snowy in Chicago and other parts of the country, it’s simple: January 28 was also my in-laws’ anniversary, as well as Mary’s cousin and his wife. Mike and Peggy were married in 1967, the day after the biggest snowstorm in history hit the Chicago area. And yes, it was shortly after Dad died, and my mother didn’t want us to get married that day because she remembered all the snow. And, in keeping with the tradition, we had a snowstorm two days before we were married. Mom never forgave me for that.

Here’s coverage of the 1967 blizzard from WFLD-TV in Chicago. Thanks to The Museum of Classic Chicago Television for making this available.

socs-jjj

Stream of Consciousness Saturday is brought to you each week by Linda Hill, who also brings you Just Jot It January every January.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

28 thoughts on “How Much Wood Would A Woodchuck Chuck If A Woodchuck Could Chuck Wood? #socs”

  1. First…Happy Anniversary! If it is yarn…..not sure that would be a good gift unless she loves knitting:) I love that clip you showed here…what a difference on how they did the news back then. To me it looks more credible actually. As for all that snow…a lot of snow but I have to chuckle at the music…which is so perky and then the change to that other music..hahahahaaa. All of a sudden there is a picture of people on a beach and the man’s reaction was too funny. Now on another note, I actually dreamt I was a woodchuck once…I have wonky dreams.

    Like

    1. She was the one who told me it’s the yarn anniversary. She knits and crochets and loves both.

      Back then, they reported the news and let you draw your own conclusions. In this case, the station was almost brand new and had little programming (I think they were off in the afternoon), and they spent the weekend just reading announcements about closings and roads. Kind of interesting, actually.

      Like

  2. Very happy anniversary to you and Mary! I passed 39 quite a while ago but my hubby and I are coming up on our 33rd this May. Wow, time flies when you’re having fun, no? I love the Beatles song and the news report is too funny. Hope you are doing something fun to celebrate!

    Like

  3. I love the song Norwegian Wood. And, no, I’m not 39 or younger. LOL. This year, in September, will be our 35th wedding anniversary. According to the all-knowing internet, this will be the coral anniversary. The modern version is jade.

    Like

  4. Happy Anniversary to you and your wife, John! My parents were also married in January. I think a cold snowy January day is perfect for a wedding!!
    Loved the sitar in Norwegian Wood! Great song.
    Interesting listening to the news about the storm. I miss hearing news like that! I’ve lived in Texas since 1991 and haven’t seen snow in decades! I so miss it!!! I fondly remember the Blizzard of ’77 in Buffalo where 19 feet of snow fell on the city and surrounding areas. Oh, those were the days!

    Thanks for giving me some chilly memories!

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  5. Happy Anniversary! If she tells you it’s the yarn anniversary, then it is. Get the yarn! lol
    I’m 43.
    People in our family seem to get married in the spring. We chose August. Winter weddings are pretty spectacular though. Little snow on the ground… so pretty! One of my friends even donned a white furry cape as a winter bride. 🙂

    Like

    1. Unfortunately, there was so much snow on the ground when we got married that one of the bridesmaids never made it, and one of the ushers got in at the last minute. Thing was, he was coming from Champaign, the same as she was, and was trying to call her to get on the train, but she was on the phone with her mother, in tears because she couldn’t make it. Oh, well…

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I think it’s held us together. Mary’s parents, also married on Jan 28 in the snow, were married over fifty years until he died, and Mary’s cousin and his wife, also married January 28 after the “Big Snow,” just celebrated fifty years. We’re at 39… yeah, January 28 is a good day to get married… 😉

          Liked by 1 person

  6. I have a logo for you if you would like some suggestions. I tried putting it here, but alas… it would not work so I’ll mail it to you if you like. You can put it right after your title. Woo Hoo, but if you rather not it’s okay… thought you would like one. hugs have a great weekend. Love the news by the way… I remember that storm… and love George… he was quiet, but had great talent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

