Monday’s Music Moves Me: Blue Monday #JusJoJan

I love it when a plan comes together.

I’ve been participating in Linda Hill’s Just Jot It January this month, and I chose today’s word, “blue.” Then, Marie (better known as XmasDolly) contacts me Saturday night and tells me “WHOO HOOOOOO! You’re the spotlight dancer for Monday!” That meant I got to choose the theme of the day, so what do I choose? Songs with “blue” in the title, blues songs, and/or songs that you play when you’re feeling blue.

Two Birds. One Stone.

First, a couple of songs with “blue” in the title.

Linda Ronstadt, “Blue Bayou” This is a Roy Orbison original, and his voice can hit all these notes too, but Linda does such a good job of it, and I love her voice.

Swing Out Sister, “Forever Blue” Another beautiful voice belongs to the lovely Corinne Drewery, chanteuse for Swing Out Sister, and this song is gorgeous.

Now, some blues….

Junior Wells with Buddy Guy, “Stormy Monday Blues” Buddy and Junior worked together often in the Sixties and Seventies. Buddy is still working, God bless him, while Junior passed in 2000. I always liked their version of this the best.

Little Walter, “Confessin’ The Blues” Marion “Little Walter” Jacobs got his start with the great Muddy Waters. Together they defined the sound of Chicago blues.

Finally, a couple for when I’m in a blue mood.

Django Reinhardt and the Quintette du Hot Club de France, “Limehouse Blues” I DARE you to listen to Django’s guitar solo in this and sit still. I can’t.

Bobby Vinton, “Blue Velvet” Solo singers like Bobby Vinton were big in the early Sixties, between the early rock & roll and the British Invasion. Bobby’s from Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, home of another great singer, Perry Como.

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for January 30, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

28 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Blue Monday #JusJoJan”

  1. Some really nice Blue songs John! I really like the Swing Out Sister’s Forever Blue. Gorgeous vocals. I never heard it before. Thanks for the introduction. Was nice to start my week with some great Blues too…

    Have a good week!

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  2. My head exploded with other songs with “blue” in the title and I learned a few more from your choices. I’ll throw one out there from the ’90s for the heck of it: Counting Blue Cars by Dishwalla. Wasn’t my favorite song by any means and was Dishwalla’s one-hit, but it’s catchy enough to sing along to, especially after 20 years. Worth a listen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. John, first off CONGRATS on the Spotlight Dancer feature and what a fabulously fun theme you came up with, too. The only song I know is Bobby Vinton’s “Blue Velvet” which is such a classic and of the introductions you shared, I was totally blown out of the blue water by Swing Out Sister. Corrine’s vocals are beautiful and I loved her style in “Forever Blue”. I’m definitely heading over to YouTube to listen to more of her stuff! Thanks for putting together a swanky bluesy party that did anything other than get me down. Have a bluetastic evening! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hey John, I found out I’m familiar Swing Out Sister’s “Breakout” song release from 1986. I’m still going through their mewis but I just wanted to pop back to let ya know and I appreciate the reminder of how good this lead female singer is!

      Like

  4. I’d heard Blue Bayou, and Blue Velvet, and both are wonderful songs. Of the ones I hadn’t heard before, I really like the one by Little Walter! 🙂 I do like some blues songs, and also some bluegrass songs!

    Like

    1. I learned to play harmonica by listening to Little Walter and Paul Butterfield, and Butterfield learned from Little Walter, too. Walter did a lot of instrumentals and mastered both the diatonic and chromatic harmonica, something very few players have done. One wonders what he might have done had he lived past 40…

      Like

  5. I could’ve sworn I started a reply here, but oh well… loving your theme and so is everyone else. Great choice. I remember saying that my mom use to play the St. Louis Blues on the accordion and needless to say she was well known for it. hahaha Anyway, thank you thank you thank you for such a fun theme and all the tunes you’ve picked here some just bring back old memories and others were just a lot of fun. Heck Blue Velvet I can remember it coming out when I was in school and I was at one of our school dances. hahahaha YOU SO ROCK MY FRIEND! hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Makes me think of one of Ella Fitzgerald’s great songs ” Blues in the Night.” I think I still can remember most of the words.

    Like

  7. Some familiar songs and some I’ve not heard of. I loved Linda Ronstadt’s voice in Blue Bayou, and Blue Velvet brings back some old memories. A blast from the past!

    Like

Leave a Reply

