#1LinerWeds from Virgil’s “The Aeneid”

Jack “Tex” Christian, one of the truly great men in history (he was Mom’s second husband, my brother Pat’s father, and our stepfather, if not in fact then in spirit), would quote this to Mom when it seemed that everything was going to hell in a handbasket. It should be noted that he taught Latin for many years, and practically spoke it as a second language.

1linerwedsbadgewes

One-Liner Wednesday is brought to us each week by Linda Hill, and is sponsored today by Kenner Products, makers of the Give-A-Show projector.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

6 thoughts on “#1LinerWeds from Virgil’s “The Aeneid””

  1. I read the Aeneid in senior year which was the school year after he died. Virgil was one of his Latin favorites. The previous year, I read Cicero and remember my dad continuing to coach me to “find the verb” which is, as you know, the foundational step of translating Latin. I don’t know if you remember Cicero, but he liked multi-page long sentences with the single verb buried in flowery prose (unlike the more dependable Virgil or Julius Caesar who consistently put the verb near the end of the sentence.) My dad enjoyed every minute of my Cicero struggle!

    Like

  2. Jack had a couple of other one-liners that I remember. When things weren’t going well for someone he would say simply – “Courage!” Also, if someone had a “poor me” attitude about something he would comment, “Buck Up.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He had another one, “God is good.” He’d say that after a particularly enjoyable meal. Jim liked that one; he said it summarized Tex’s philosophy of life. I think he’s right.

      Like

Leave a Reply

