Gimme A Head With Hair #socs

My hair is, or at least it was, really curly, so I had to have it cut frequently, because after 3 or 4 weeks it started getting wild and hard to control, and Mary would tell me I looked like Einstein. And my mother would be all over me anytime she saw me. “You need a haircut.” And she wouldn’t let up until I had it cut. Finally, about 25 years ago, I decided to stop getting my hair cut. I just got tired of running to the barber every 4-6 weeks, so I just stopped, grew it long, and put it in a ponytail, because otherwise it’s all over the place. The only statement I’m making is that I got tired of having it cut.

My hair started going gray when I was in my late 30’s. I was at a bookstore once, and the cashier said, “I like your hair.” I was kind of dumbfounded, but managed to say “thanks.” Then she said, “Don’t ever dye it.” Took me by surprise. I mean, I never had any intention of dyeing it. I had a friend who was in his 40’s who decided to use Grecian Formula 16, and I know they say it’s gradual, but his transition wasn’t. One week he had gray hair, the next week it was really dark. It was kind of weird.

Like when you see someone you know is bald suddenly has hair, you know he’s wearing a toupee, a/k/a a rug. There was a disk jockey on WLS named Clark Weber who was bald as a hatchet. He and another WLS DJ, Ron Riley, had one of those phony feuds going, where Clark would call Ron “Goldilocks” and Ron would call him “Baldylocks.” He left WLS in the mid-Sixties, and the next time I saw him he had hair. It was kind of weird, but the voice was the same. Bless them both, Clark just retired in 2015 and, as far as I know, Ron is working as a weatherman in San Diego, or at least he was. That’s after fifty years.

clark_weber_1976
Clark Weber, circa 1976 (Public Domain)

My dad’s brother was one of the first guys to have a hair transplant. The joke was he looked like “tear on the dotted line,” because you could see where they put in the plugs, in a line across his forehead. Don’t understand why he did it; he looked fine to me. The last time I saw him was about 30 years ago, at his Aunt Florence’s wake. I looked him up a few years ago. I’m tempted to call him, but there was some bad blood between him and my mother, and I feel kind of weird about it. One of my cousins said he had a stroke a few years ago; that’d be something we could talk about.

I would do international travel about once every ten years, which meant I’d have to get a new passport each time. I got one passport when I was 40, and another when I was 50. You could really see the difference in hair color. Oh well, better over the hill than under it…

socsbadgecropped

Stream of Consciousness Saturday is brought to you each week by Linda Hill and this station. And now, a word from Sizzler…

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

23 thoughts on “Gimme A Head With Hair #socs”

  1. I used to get a haircut when it began to get too long on top. Since I got older and began losing my hair on top, now I go to the barber when it gets too long on the sides. I long for the old days! I think you were referring to your Uncle Ed. Is he still living? I haven’t thought about him in years

    Like

  2. Got it cut every 90 days or so in my rock band days, when it was shoulder length.

    Then I became a middle manager at AMD, and cut it short and respectable.

    It’s gone on top today. When I start looking like Dilbert’s boss, it’s time for a cut. And hats are a requirement in sun and cold. Sunburn is no fun up there…

    Like

    1. Guess you could say you have your father’s hair… 😉 And yes, be sure to wear a hat, with a good brim that covers your ears. After seeing what melanoma did to Tex, I’m telling everyone.

      Like

  3. My hair is thin, thin, thin and there isn’t much of it. I have to use mousse to make it look thicker. Love Sizzler but there aren’t that many around us anymore.

    Like

  4. So if you can believe it, I’m solidly in the “salt and pepper” stage with the first strands showing up in my early 20’s. Fortunately, even in my early 40’s, I still have my full head of hair and, other than the thinning that comes with hair turning white, the woman who cuts my hair says that I’ll always have most of it. Given my over 50% shift to gray, I’m far past any attempt to dye it and fool anyone and I’ve too have been told multiple times to NEVER dye it. So, silver fox it is.

    Like

    1. Whatever you’re comfortable with. Mom started coloring her hair before Dad died, then had it bleached and remained a blonde for the rest of her life. Mary colored hers for about a year, then decided that was nuts. Interestingly enough, people started complimenting her and asking what she had done, when it was what she stopped doing…

      Women can get by with coloring their hair; men, not so much.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. My husband is bald and has been for about ten years. I like it fine. It grows in a bit here and there, fuzzy, and then he peels it all off again.
    I don’t get my hair cut but maybe every 9 months to 2 years, so I can’t say I blame you. Salons are not my thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My hubby has curly hair and it has thinned on top. He used to have a pony tail but it was thin, as well. His hair is thick on the sides and in the back and he does not like getting hair cuts. I have shoulder length fairly straight hair. I gave up on the salons because they can screw it up more than I do. I don’t color it and it has turned a nice shade on white on its own. I bought a good pair of hair cutting scissors at Sally’s Beauty Supply and trim it myself.

    Like

    1. I think you’re better off if you can trim it yourself.

      Supposedly, Sally Beauty Supply was for professional hairstylists, which is why you could get industrial-sized bottles of shampoo and conditioner there. They didn’t seem to be all that particular whether you were or weren’t a hairstylist, either. We got a really nice pair of scissors there that I used until they got lost (probably tucked into one of Mary’s knitting bags and forgotten).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

