The Top Five From WLS 50 Years Ago Today

I just realized that this year looks just like 1967, except Easter is three weeks later this year, due to the way it’s calculated. Anyway, in 1967 we had just buried Dad (after a couple of weeks due to The Big Snow) and life was starting to get back to normal for us, whatever that meant. Here’s the Top Five from WLS fifty years ago today. Thanks again to Oldiesloon for collecting the surveys.

#5: New Colony Six, “I Love You So Much” Didn’t remember this one from Chicago’s own New Colony Six. This one was actually bigger in Canada than the US.

#4: Rolling Stones, “Ruby Tuesday” What more needs to be said about this classic from The Stones?

#3: The Seeds, “Pushin’ Too Hard” The Seeds were a band that did garage rock, psychedelic rock, and acid rock and excelled in all three.

#2: The Seekers, “Georgy Girl” The Seekers were a band out of Australia whose lead singer was the lovely Judith Durham. Their earlier hit, “I Know I’ll Never Find Another You” is sung at every Marriage Encounter weekend. At least it was at ours.

#1: The Monkees, “(I’m Not Your) Steppin’ Stone”/”I’m A Believer” This is one of those records that had two “A” sides, both fantastic songs. I’ve shared the story of how my brothers and I played the grooves off this one at a restaurant. We thought it was the best, and fifty years later, it still is one of the best.


And that’s The Friday Five for February 10, 1967 2017.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

19 thoughts on “The Top Five From WLS 50 Years Ago Today”

  1. Bittersweet memories for you and no matter how long, we always remember our parents. This is a great week for music! I had no idea they all came out in one week and loving it even more because it’s my mom’s 89th birthday!

    Like

  2. My piano teacher Alice “Blue” Dean taught me Bach and Chopin, but she also got me piano solo scores for songs I heard on the radio. One of these was Stepping Stone, one of the Monkees’ best. I wanted the parts from the actual recording, but of course that piano solo score didn’t really have them.

    She had most of us learn Georgy Girl, her notion of an easy pop song. I figured out Ruby Tuesday by ear, another song I sang along with for some early voice training.

    I used to make fun of the vocal delivery in Pushin’ Too Hard.

    And I Love You So Much was another romantic love song like the Association’s Never My Love that made me think about having a girlfriend some day.

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane in one of my favorite radio years.

    Like

    1. To get what you heard on the record, you had to sit and listen to the record over and over and try and play along. Slowing the record down to 16 (from 33) was a good way to pick up the hard parts. I never had the patience for that (and Mom would yell at me to stop it after a while). Now I wish I had taken the time….

      Like

  3. All great songs! I used to pick up WLS way off here in TX. I’d listen to my transistor radio late at night, and there were lots of stations that came in clear from far away. 🙂

    Like

    1. At 50000 watts, WLS was a “clear channel” station that could be heard virtually everywhere east of the Rockies, and there were reports of people in California receiving it. WLW in Cincinnati (700 kHz) was another, very popular with truckers, and KMOX from St. Louis was another. When I was a kid, I picked up a Houston Astros game from the Astrodome, but now that I think of it, it might have been against the Reds and I might have been listening on WLW, but I don’t think so. It’s a hobby called broadcast DX’ing (DX being radio talk for “distance listening”), and was popular in the days when AM radio was worth listening to. I might do a post about it someday…

      Liked by 2 people

      1. DX shortwave (and any other wave) is a cool hobby. General and Extra class ham radio operators have contests for the most 2-way DX contacts over a short time period.

        I’m always amazed by how far away WLS and WCFL could be heard in those days. It’s too bad AM radio has gone to h$##.

        Like

        1. It has, although it’s still fun to listen for stations in other states. One Saturday night I picked up WGN and WBBM fairly clearly on the car radio. I wonder if stations still send out QSL cards?

          Like

          1. I’ve gotten QSL cards from mid-Pacific islands a couple thousand miles away from my then-San Jose California area location. DX is fun, and a passion for many ham operators.

            And I nearly wore out open-reel and cassette tapes of copy tunes I was learning for live performance. The sketch scores for Chicago’s first 7 albums were a big help. Then I wanted things like Victor Feldman’s Rhodes solo from Steely Dan’s “Black Cow”, which took a long time to figure out. I loved all those jazz chords.

            Like

            1. You definitely got a jazz education when you listened to Steely Dan, at least the later stuff where it was Fagen and Becker with a bunch of studio musicians. Larry Carlton did some of his best guitar work with them.

              Like

  4. I don’t remember the first song, at all. I’ve sent it to the Mrs. to see if she does. Pushin’ Too Hard was a favorite, but I never would have remembered “The Seeds” – seriously?

    Monkees, Stones and the Seekers, all firmly held in my memory. I’m glad this wasn’t a test. Although, 60% would be a ‘D’ – still a passing grade 😉

    Like

    1. The New Colony Six was a Chicago band that might not have been known very well outside the Midwest, so you might not have heard of them or heard any of their records. There were a few bands like that (The Buckinghams and The Cryan Shames come to mind; they got airplay on WLS and WCFL, but hardly anywhere else). So I’ll give you that one, and partial credit for “Pushin’ Too Hard,” because I could never remember who did that one, either, so that brings you up to 90, maybe 95, which is an A most places.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

