Monday’s Music Moves Me: Whoo Whoo!

First, this word from Good & Plenty candy!

Sheldon Cooper would be thrilled to death with today’s theme, chosen by Stacy: songs about trains and railroads! This kid from Chicago, at one time the railroad hub of the nation, can actually remember when trains were a bigger deal than planes. My Dad worked for the Monon Railroad, “The Hoosier Line,” which ran from Chicago to beautiful Monon, Indiana and other points around the Midwest. The Santa Fe Railroad used to sponsor the Ten O’Clock News on WBBM, and there were commercials for the Super Chief, the train that ran from Chicago to Los Angeles and at one time carried some of the biggest stars of the day. By the end of the Sixties, most people had switched over to air travel, and now the trains are used mostly for commuters. Amtrak runs most intercity service now. But at one time? The train was the way to go.

Steve Goodman, “City of New Orleans” Arlo Guthrie’s is the best-known version of this, but here you have the composer singing it. Steve, who was from Chicago, wrote this around the same time Amtrak took over the train that ran from Chicago to New Orleans.

Butterfield Blues Band, “Mystery Train” Written by Junior Parker, it’s been recorded by Elvis, but this is a better version, in my humblest of opinions.

Quintette of the Hot Club of France, “Mystery Pacific” More Django Reinhardt! This is from 1937.

Howlin’ Wolf, “Smokestack Lightnin'” I’ve used this one a few times, but this is the only live version they know of, from a Folk Blues concert tour in the UK in 1964. That’s Hubert Sumlin on guitar, Big Willie Dixon on bass, and I’m not sure who’s on piano and drums.

The Beatles, “One After 909” The Beatles wrote this song back when they got their start, and didn’t record it until the Let It Be album. This is a live version fromn 1962, when Pete Best was still the drummer.

Theme from “Petticoat Junction” I just had to toss this one in. The song was written by Paul Henning, the show’s producer and Linda Kaye Henning’s (who played Betty Jo for the entire run of the series) father.

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for February 13, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

22 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Whoo Whoo!”

  1. Do you remember your father singing the Monon jingle?

      Up and down the Monon everything is fine
      'cause that rootin', tootin' Monon it's a Hoosier line!
    

    I was in the Army with a guy from Indiana and he was amazed that a guy from Chicago knew that jingle. Every time we would meet on the base we would start the Monon song. Friday or Saturday night’s in the local watering holes we were especially good!

    Like

    1. I do, and I also remember Tex singing it. I guess it was played frequently at Union Station (or whatever train station the Monon called home). Plus, Tex grew up in South Bend, so he might have heard it there. We have a crumber from the Monon that Mom had when she died.

      Like

  2. I love City of New Orleans, though what I remember is Arlo singing it. We watched Petticoat Junction every week when I was growing up. It never occurred to me as a child that “Hooterville” could refer to Kate’s three lovely young daughters.

    Love,
    Janie

    Like

  3. John, WOW, you really pulled together some oldies here! I admit I do not know any of them, even the one by the Beatles. I loved that you threw in the theme mewsic from The Petticoat Junction. I loved that show! You did an awesome job, John. Thanks for sharing and playing along with the 4M crew today!

    Like

  4. Way ta go my friend! Love the commercial ya brought back my childhood love… GOOD & PLENTY! WOO HOO & OH MY PETTICOAT JUNCTION I use to watch that one every day! The tunes you dug up sooooo cool. I sent a few to the hubby. Maybe he’ll use them for the band. They do some blues/jazz now & then too! Very cool! John you’re duh best!!!! YOU SO ROCK!

    Like

  5. I saw I missed a few tunes here… holy cow where did you find that Beatles tune??? Fantastic & those others you really dug into the ol’ archive didn’t ya Johnny! Truly you are the king of rock & roll! WOO HOO!!!!!

    Like

    1. “One After 909” was on the Let It Be album, but John and Paul wrote it when they first started writing their own songs. I looked for the version from the album (and the movie), but couldn’t find it because, you know, WMG, and it’s not one of the songs VEVO has. I think the version here was on Anthology 1, but I haven’t listened to that in a while.

      Like

    1. I love it because Chicago was always a big train city, and when it was written trains were on their way out as a preferred method of transportation, at least passengers. The song catches some of that sadness.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

