Finally, A #1LinerWeds From Me

file-feb-13-10-41-09

I was summoned for jury duty about nine years ago. I could have just as easily used my physical handicap to get out of it, but I didn’t. A friend of mine from Nigeria, who had become a US citizen not long before, told me that the judge who swore them in said that having a sufficient pool of jurors to draw from was necessary to preserve the Sixth Amendment right to a jury trial. When he told me that, I realized it was true, and promised myself that, if I was ever called to serve on a jury, I would.

I guess the people of Cobb County, Georgia had been good enough that there were few cases on the docket. The group I was in was called to be interviewed for a civil trial, which involved an insurance company that I do business with, so I was dismissed. They gave us a number to call to check whether we were needed the next day, and by Wednesday I was told they didn’t need my group and thanked us for our service to the Superior Court.

I got off the phone and told Mary, and said, “Gee, and I never got to sentence anyone to death. Life is full of little disappointments.”

(For the record, I would have a very hard time voting to take someone’s life. Don’t get mad at me.)

1linerwedsbadgewes

One-Liner Wednesday is brought to you by Linda Hill and this station. Now a word from Kenner Toys.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

9 thoughts on “Finally, A #1LinerWeds From Me”

  1. Great post, but I’m stuck on the Kenner commercial. I don’t think my kit had a working elevator, but it was more than 10 years before this commercial was made. It was OK, I also had an Erector set, so I could build the elevator πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Hah! I have made the call once and not been needed. Been rejected once, too. I have used nursing a baby to get out of selection another two times. I figure I’m due again soon, but now I work for law firm again, and they don’t usually want us πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. It would be strange, though, wouldn’t it, to have so much power over someone’s life? I received a letter many years ago that said I would be called for jury duty. I wrote back that I was attending college and had young children. I never heard from them again.

    Love,
    Janie

    Like

    1. My mother-in-law got a summons for jury duty the day she died. We had to call and tell them. It was Chicago, where being dead usually doesn’t preclude you from voting, but it’s a little harder to show up if you’re six feet under. They just told us to send a holy card. Everything was cool.

      Very few cases get to the jury selection stage. Most of them are pled out before then. Still, like they say, they need jurors to guarantee everyone that wants a jury can get one. Weird how they select you, though.

      Like

  4. I was empaneled, and voted to acquit a San Jose fire captain accused of assault with intent to do greaty bodily harm in 1985. He’d been walking in his neighborhood and was attracted by an altercation on a neighbor’s front porch involving a young teenaged resident. Some pushing ensued.

    We believed the testimony of disinterested neighbors across the street. They told the story of an altercation with no prejudicial action from the fire captain, a black man.

    He was lucky they were there and willing to testify. The defense attorney, former San Jose cop Harry Robertson, told me afterward the teenager had apparently been “…higher than a kite on PCP…,” inadmissable hearsay. I concluded that if I were ever criminally charged, I’d want Robertson as my attorney.

    Like

Leave a Reply

