Hamilton, Joe, Frank Reynolds And The Entire Eyewitness News Team #socs

The title of this post refers to a running joke by former DJ Dan Ingram at WABC-AM (770 kHz) in New York, used whenever he’d play a song by Hamilton, Joe Frank & Reynolds, who had two big hits, “Don’t Pull Your Love” in 1971 and “Fallin’ In Love” in 1975.


Mary grew up in the Back of the Yards neighborhood of Chicago, the “Yards” referring to the Union Stock Yards, as described in Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle. I think her grandmother and uncle worked there.

I Will 133C Entrance to Stock Yards Chicago F

Once when I was out of work I applied at the Dubuque Packing Company, famous for their canned hams. The guy I interviewed with wore a bloodstained white coat, I think to see if I’d recoil in horror. I didn’t, but I didn’t get the job, either. Not that I was that disappointed.


Guess they no longer come in cans. Source: KrakusFoods.com

Speaking of canned hams, occasionally we would buy a canned Polish ham and have the butcher slice it for sandwiches. It was usually a Krakus ham, imported from Poland. Evidently Krakus is sponsoring the Chicago Air & Water Show this year. Chicago is second only to Warsaw in residents of Polish ancestry. You could look it up.

There had been talk of replacing Alexander Hamilton on the $10 bill with Sojourner Truth, abolitionist and human rights advocate who escaped from slavery and later recruited black soldiers for the Union Army during the Civil War. Then the musical Hamilton hit Broadway and reminded everyone the significance of Hamilton as a Founder of this nation, and they decided to replace Andrew Jackson on the $20 bill instead. Someone made the comment that a white male Southern Democrat was being replaced by a black female Northern Republican who carried a gun and was an evangelical Christian. The irony is wonderful.

Hamilton is most famous for being killed by Aaron Burr in a duel in 1804. I don’t think Aaron Burr is any direct relation to Raymond Burr, who played Perry Mason on TV. Perry Mason’s nemesis was district attorney Hamilton Burger, and you all know about that. Amazing how these things work out, isn’t it?


socsbadgecropped

This twisted snake of a post is a Stream of Consciousness Saturday entry. SoCS is brought to you each week by Linda Hill and is sponsored this week by The Keg restaurant.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

11 thoughts on “Hamilton, Joe, Frank Reynolds And The Entire Eyewitness News Team #socs”

  1. Maybe all of the people images on our money should be replaced by something less controversial like animals perhaps. Or maybe buildings or natural landmarks. Or how about big fancy numbers surrounded by geometrical patterns. Personally I like the traditional money iconography, but it seems like there’s a big move to get rid of any trace of “old white guys” from American history. For that matter it seems like some people just want to get rid of “old white guys” period. Maybe it’s time for Atlas Shrugged.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. I thought it was four guys too! Nice bit of consciousness here, John. I think the guy interviewing you with blood on his coat might be in some sort of code violation don’t you?

    Like

    1. Maybe, but it actually didn’t bother me. What was more disturbing was his talk about the knives and how you had to make sure thoswe wielding them wore chain mail gloves or they could cut their fingers off.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t want to just talk about ham (maybe my favorite sandwich meat), and I wasn’t really in the mood to do a playlist (although I did have the 2 HJF&R songs in there), so I just took off in a direction and changed course when I felt like it. Glad you liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

