The Friday Five: “Jump” Songs

My brother Patrick, who had a hard time finding “pain” songs (i.e. songs with “pain” in the title) said “I AM quite familiar with the group House of Pain and their ever popular hit Jump Around (circa 1992.) To that end, I think that a Friday Five with “jump” in the title will yield good results.” And before I knew it, I had five songs and others were calling out to me. So, here are five songs with “jump” in the title.

House of Pain, “Jump Around” I’ll be honest, until I heard this one, I had no idea what song Pat was talking about, but as it happens this is one I’m familiar with, and it is indeed from 1992. It reached #3 on the Hot 100, #14 on the R&B chart, and #5 on the Rap chart that year.

Van Halen, “Jump” From the album 1984, Van Halen’s only #1 song, it’s been ranked at #15 on VH1’s “100 Greatest Songs of the 1980’s.”

Count Basie, “One O’Clock Jump” The Count makes two appearances this week. This is from the 1943 movie Reveille With Beverly which starred Ann Miller, William Wright, and Dick Purcell.

Duke Ellington, “Jump For Joy” I remembered this one because Chicago did this on a TV tribute to The Duke.

Oscar Peterson and Count Basie, “Jumpin’ At The Woodside” The Count jams with Oscar Peterson here. You’ll recognize the song as the one for Gene Gene, The Dancing Machine.

So those are my five. What are some of yours?

That’s The Friday Five for March 3, 2017.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

16 thoughts on “The Friday Five: “Jump” Songs”

  1. The first thing that jumped into my mind was “Jumpin’ at the Savoy”, but then I figured I had it confused with the “Stompin”‘ song. So I looked it up and sure enough there was a “Jumpin’ at the Savoy” with many versions available on YouTube including this one:

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. Glad I could help prompt an idea!

    As for additional songs with jump, I had to think hard as I refuse to cheat on these and look at Google. However, after reflecting on my teenage music experience, I remembered another “jump” song from the same period as my other suggestion: Jump by Kris Kross. Generally wasn’t my taste in music at that time, but it was all over the radio.

    Like

  3. Such a great collection 🙂 Oh how I love House of Pain. We have to get up and dance to that one.
    How about Jump by the Pointer Sisters — a song that was never as good until Hugh Grant danced to it 😉
    And then Rhianna has a jump song, but I don’t love it. Part of it’s a remake, and it’s meh. Don’t tell her I said that.

    Like

    1. I knew there were a couple of songs named “Jump,” and I like that one by The Pointer Sisters (heck, I just like the Pointer Sisters). I don’t think I’ve heard anything by Rihanna; like I said, after 1995 I got tired of music on the radio.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

