Monday’s Music Moves Me: “Air” Songs

I’m writing this last Monday, because X-Mas Dolly (a/k/a Marie) has already added the theme to her page. It comes to us from an anonymous source, and here it is:

“Band/Artist name or Song title with the word ‘Air’.”

It was as though the songs just came flying at me, and I also immediately thought of everyone’s favorite band, Air Supply! Here’s “Making Love Out Of Nothing At All.”

So, now that we have that out of the way….

In 1974, the year I graduated from high school, my favorite band, Chicago, who for years had been called a “jazz/rock” band, released their seventh album (called, not surprisingly, Chicago VII), in which they attempted to do a little more of the jazz than they had done on the previous two albums. They started the album off with an excursion into odd time signatures, “Aire,” to which they added a prelude, oddly named “Prelude to ‘Aire’.” Here are both songs.

Back in the late Sixties (Peace, Love, Dope!), a couple of hippie radicals named James Rado and Gerome Ragni decided to write themselves a musical dedicated to the free-love, freewheelin’ times, and enlisted a square named Galt McDermott to write the music for a musical they called Hair. Buried amongst all the songs about free love, dope, nudity, and living in the great outdoors was a song called “Air,” which discussed all the extra stuff besides nitrogen, oxygen, and carbon in Earth’s atmosphere. From the original Broadway cast album, here’s that song.

You know how you remember a song but can’t remember what its name was, or who did it? I had one of those moments today, when all I could remember was “ooo-ooo, have another HIT! Of fresh air!” Well, I Googled it (actually, Duck Duck Go‘ed it) and discovered that the name of the song was “Fresh Air,” and the band who had a hit with it in 1970 was a band from the Haight-Ashbury days of San Francisco, Quicksilver Messenger Service.

Long as we’re stuck in the late Sixties… in 1968, Arthur Hailey wrote a book called Airport. If you’ve never read it, whether or not you’ve seen the 1970 film based on the book, starring Burt Lancaster, Dean Martin, Jean Seberg, Jacqueline Bisset, and the late, great George Kennedy, find a copy of it, sit down and read it. It’s that good a book, and made Arthur Hailey one of my favorite authors. Of course, the book didn’t come with a soundtrack, but the movie did, written by Alfred Newman (no relation to the Mad magazine kid). The “Love Theme from Airport” was recorded by session guitarist and electronic effects guru Vinnie Bell in 1970, and it reached #31 on the Hot 100 and #2 on the Adult Contemporary chart.

I came up with two more, one of which was just too easy (“The Air That I Breathe” by The Hollies). The other? You’ll have to wait until Wednesday’s Battle of the Bands to hear it.

And that is Monday’s Music Moves Me for March 13, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

19 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: “Air” Songs”

  1. I. Ight be one of the few that really likes Air Supply:) Chicago is such a great band who actually use real instruments instead of synthesizers. Saddens me when I think that my friend has a piano she can’t even give away right now. The music from Airport…the love theme sounds……bad to me with that underwater thing they did. Ok I can’t be a writer since I used “thing” and hope you know what I mean with that warble music throughout the song

    Like

    1. Vinnie Bell did an entire album with that underwater thing (he had a name for it. but I don’t remember what it is, so underwater thing works for me). He also did the theme from “Midnight Cowboy” on that album, as I recall.

      Like

  2. John, Other than the opening selection which we all know, you have some unique “Air” songs here. The last two newbie tunes I really enjoyed a lot. Now, I’m anxious to see how you pull this off in your BoTB as hinted. Let me hop to that post to cast my vote. I appreciate the anonymous recognition and thanks for continuing to boogie with us every Monday!

    Like

  3. I don’t remember ever hearing the Air song from HAIR! Please tell me it wasn’t in the movie and only in the play, so I don’t think I’m losing that much memory already. I loved “Fresh Air” and of course, Chicago, having also graduated HS in 74 🙂

    Like

    1. I haven’t seen the movie “Hair,” or for that matter the stage production. The song was on the Broadway cast album, so I assume it was in the stage show. They might have dropped it from the recent movie.

      “Chicago VII” might have been my favorite album of theirs, because V and VI really didn’t have much of the musicianship the first three albums did, and frankly the live album was a huge disappointment (“Chicago At Carnegie Hall,” which came out between III and V). I saw interviews with the band after the live album came out, and they felt the same way.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. There were other “horn bands,” most notably Blood Sweat & Tears, who someone once described as “college professors trying to show people how to play rock & roll,” but none quite like Chicago. Terry Kath, their original guitarist, was an incredible musician and the “soul” of the band (according to his bandmates); they haven’t quite been the same since his unfortunate death.

          Like

  4. I’m a little behind it reading so apologize for the late entry. I came up short in thinking of any except for the theme song from The Fresh Prince of Bel Air. Not sure if it qualifies, but I’m running with it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

