Monday’s Music Moves Me: Themes From Irwin Allen Shows and Movies

I realize this is later than usual… I ran out of time yesterday before I got the chance to write this entry, then I had to be an adult and do the taxes and follow up on an insurance problem today. Then, after lunch, I sat down to watch Bonanza on MeTV, only to learn, much to my chagrin, that we no longer receive MeTV: it moved to a station outside the Atlanta area at 9 AM this morning. Where or when it will return, I don’t know; all I know is that we now have Escape on two different channels.

One of the things I’ll miss, at least until we get MeTV back, is their late-night sci-fi programs that run after 1 AM on Saturday night/Sunday morning. It’s then that they run the Irwin Allen-produced sci-fi programs from the Sixties. All of the themes but one in today’s MMMM were written by John (or, as he was known in the Sixties, Johnny) Williams. Williams and Allen had a working relationship not unlike that of Henry Mancini and Blake Edwards.

Land Of The Giants

The Time Tunnel

Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea Theme music by Paul Sawtell

Lost In Space

Allen went on to produce disaster movies such as The Poseidon Adventure and The Towering Inferno. Not exactly sci-fi, but I’m on a roll.

The Towering Inferno

The Poseidon Adventure

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for March 27, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

19 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Themes From Irwin Allen Shows and Movies”

  1. Oh wow, the last two…. I haven’t thought of in ages. You have extraordinary choices here my friend. Have a great week and thanks for sharing your wonderful picks.

    Like

  2. Loved the Towering Inferno and Poseidon Adventure. Makes me want to find them and watch again. What great casts. I did watch Lost in Space. but not the other ones. Thanks for sharing, John. Hope you had a great birthday!

    Like

  3. Lately I’ve been recording late night reruns of Land of the Giants. It was definitely formulaic, but some of the over-sized props and the effects weren’t too bad for the time. I recall watching some episodes of this show, but I believe the show was on Sunday nights and maybe opposite something like Ed Sullivan or some other show that took precedence.

    Irwin Allen produced some good stuff.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. They did a much more aggressive job of scheduling shows against each other in the Sixties, and I think the tendency was to put on one of the networks and leave it there, because changing the channel involved getting up off the couch (or sending one of the kids to do it). Now it’s like short-attention-span TV, where you might watch two or three shows at a time. We mostly use TV for the background noise these days.

      Like

  4. John, I remember all of your old TV series, except The Time Tunnel. I don’t believe I ever watched “Land of the Giants” but it seems I watched “Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea” and “Lost in Space”. Netflix has the remake of LIS. I do recall seeing both of Allen disaster type films and how scary they seemed to me. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and dancing with the 4M crew. Have a sci-fi-tastic week and thanks for visiting, my friend!

    Like

    1. Time Tunnel was on Friday nights, as I recall, and I think it was up against Gomer Pyle, so we rarely watched it. I’ve never seen either of the movies, but if they were as good as the shows, I’d probably like them. Both had an incredible cast, I recall.

      Like

  5. I love this post! This music brings back memories. I found Land of the Giants when it was in reruns and always wanted to know what it was like to be that small. Loved the Time Tunnel and only recall it faintly since I was so little. I remember my mom being disappointed that it was cancelled. Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea was always fun to watch and Lost In Space was one show I watched relentlessly, along with Gilligan’s Island right after school. I need to get The Poseidon adventure on DVD but I do have a The Towering Inferno which is so much fun. Steve McQueen wanted to be first on the list of stars so he wanted to be on the left side but got pissed that Paul Newman’s name was slightly higher. I always thought, when OJ sees the smoke, that he could have just gone down there to put the fire out.

    Like

    1. We watched Voyage every Sunday. I didn’t like it much then, but it’s gotten better with age. I’m not much of a sci-fi fan, but Irwin Allen’s I could appreciate.

      Like

Leave a Reply

