The Friday Five: More “Man” Songs

I have a slight backlog on my Friday Fives. I have two weeks’ worth of your song suggestions to do, one for days of the week from last Friday and one from the Stream of Consciousness Saturday from the week before, songs with “man” in the title. So, I’ll do the “man” songs today and days of the week songs next Friday. Sound like a plan?

Rush, “Working Man” My brother Pat was kind of stumped by this one, he told me, but he came up with this gem from Rush’s 1974 eponymous debut album. Wikipedia tells us this was the song that landed them their record contract.

Johnny Rivers, “Secret Agent Man” Jeanne was a superstar this week, coming up with three contributions to the list. I can’t believe I didn’t come up with this the first time through — this is a favorite of mine and I could even play it back in my guitar-playing days. Obviously, this was done live at The Hollywood Bowl for the program of the same name, and yes, that was Judy Garland doing the introduction. It rose to #3 on the Hot 100 in 1966.

Gene Pitney, “(The Man Who Shot) Liberty Valance” From the 1962 movie of the same name, this went to #4 for Gene on the Hot 100 that year. Jeanne also suggested this one.

Iron Maiden, “Man On The Edge” Jeanne’s third recommendation comes to us from the world of heavy metal (assuming this was the song she was talking about). This is from 1995, from their X Factor album, and the blogger’s best friend tells us it was inspired by the movie Falling Down, which might be my favorite Michael Douglas movie. Evidently, the song reached #1 in Finland.

Muddy Waters, “I’m A Man (Mannish Boy)” This was on the original list, but I thought having two songs named “I’m A Man” was a little much. You might remember that, due to technical difficulties, an early version of the song list got out, and this was on it. Lauralynn commented and said, “hey, where’s ‘I’m A Man (Mannish Boy)’?” Here’s a live version, from what I estimate was the late Sixties, based on who’s playing with him.

And while I’m on the subject, “Mannish Boy” was a followup to Muddy’s earlier hit, Willie Dixon’s “Hoochie Coochie Man.”

As always, thanks to all the contributors. Next week, more day of the week songs. That’s The Friday Five for March 31, 2017.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

21 thoughts on “The Friday Five: More “Man” Songs”

    1. Do you remember the show, with Patrick McGoohan? It was originally “Danger Man,” which was its name in the UK. I read somewhere that people generally assume “The Prisoner” is a continuation of “Secret Agent” and that McGoohan is again playing John Drake. Good shows, both of them.

      Liked by 2 people

        1. It was called “Secret Agent” in the US. I wish one of the classic TV stations (except MeTV, which I can’t receive at the moment) would pick up both of those. WTTW in Chicago (the PBS affiliate) used to run “The Prisoner” on Sunday nights. Maybe one of the online services carries it…

          Liked by 1 person

  1. โ€œIโ€™m A Man (Mannish Boy)โ€ was on the “Risky Business” movie soundtrack. That was the movie that put Tom Cruise on the map. It was shot on the Chicago North Shore, not far from my parents’ house on Vernon Avenue. Cruise’s main character would have gone to New Trier West if they’d been accurate in the movie.

    Like

  2. There’s a lot of songs for this prompt. First ones that came to my mind are Michael Jackson’s “Man in the Mirror” and the old folkie “Man of Constant Sorrow” that was done so well by the Soggy Bottom Boys in the movie Oh Brother, Where Art Thou.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  3. Muddy Waters turned out to be just what the Motterns needed tonight ๐Ÿ™‚

    Can’t Find a Better Man, Stand By Your Man, Nowhere Man, Walk Like a Man, Iron Man, Rocket Man, Piano Man, Southern Man, Ramblin Man, It’s a Man’s World (Oh, James Brown is next for us! — and maybe another cocktail.) Son of a Preacher Man, yes he was…mmm, yes he was… Man in the Box, Lucky Man, The Man who Sold the World, Man in Black, What a Man whatta man, whatta mighty good man…

    I think you could do Man for a week ๐Ÿ˜› Or I could!
    Happy weekend, John — thanks for the tunes!

    Like

  4. My older brother bought me Fly By Night for Christmas when I was about twelve. It was the first real rock and roll album I had. I was too young to appreciate the greatness of Rush at the time but a couple years later I was playing it all the time.

    Like

  5. Dylan’s Tambourine Man? top-of-mind always for me for ‘Man’ numbers.

    Muddy Water’s a family favourite here! Thanks for all the great music.

    Like

    1. I grew up in Chicago and saw Muddy Waters live a number of times. He was a real classic, and he always had the best backup bands.

      Yep, I’ll have to do “man” again sometime…

      Like

  6. Great selection of “man” songs, John, and the commenters added a lot more. I never realized there were so many “man” songs. Great end of the week post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

