Abacab #atozchallenge

And, we’re off! Welcome to my first post for the 2017 A to Z Challenge!

ABACAB

Abacab was the eleventh studio album for the band Genesis. It was released in September 1981, and reached #1 on the UK Albums chart and #7 on the Billboard 200, and was certifierd double platinum (two million units sold) by the RIAA.

Mike Rutherford, guitarist for the band, explained that the title came from the way the three parts of the title track (called A, B, and C) were laid out at one point, abacab. When all was said and done, the actual layout of the song’s parts looked more like accaabbaac. The song reached #26 on the Billboard Hot 100 in the US and #9 in the UK.

The second single from the album was “No Reply At All.” It went all the way to #2 on the US Mainstream Rock chart, #7 in Canada, #29 on the Hot 100, and #28 on the Cash Box Top 100. It featured the Earth, Wind, and Fire horns in addition to the band.

Join me again on Monday and Monday through Saturday each week this month (as well as Sunday, April 30) as we continue through the alphabet!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

58 thoughts on “Abacab #atozchallenge”

  1. Visiting the moderators pages from the A-Z page. Boy the band Genesis and the songs for today was a deja vue moment for me! Can’t remember the last time I heard those songs!

    Like

    1. They don’t play it on the top 40 stations anymore, and I think the classic rock stations are more into Led Zeppelin and Lynyrd Skynyrd and that sort of music. So, it probably has been a while…

      Like

  2. Genesis. Phil Collins and co. definitely a must for the 80s. Miami Vice and Against All Odds the movie popped into my head at just the mention of this lovely group. Wow, shades of my childhood. 🙂

    Like

    1. We just started watching Miami Vice; it’s on at 11 Eastern on Cozi TV (which we get over the air). After watching a few days, we wondered why we hadn’t watched it before.

      Like

  3. It took me a while to appreciate Genesis. Their music first caught my attention with this album I guess. Later I went back to their earlier albums and realized what great music I’d been missing. They’re now one of my favorite groups.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  4. Played “Turn It On Again” many times onstage, from the previous 1980 album Duke. Initially, I was the only guy who could count and cue the time signature changes, and re-entry from what the bass player always called the Indian part..

    I was never a huge Genisis fan, maybe because I was going through a separation and divorce in the early 1980s when they were most commercially popular.

    Like

    1. By the way, I think Phil Collins is making a come back. He released a new one last year and touring this year. He has hearing loss pretty bad (tinnitus too) and took time off as a result and now back at it. Heidi at, Decibel Memos

      Like

      1. I hadn’t heard that (maybe I should find a better way to put that…) Someone else mentioned Genesis is getting ready to tour this year, so I assume he’ll be with them.

        Like

  5. Love them and hoping that they come around our area during their newly planned tour. My husband thinks Peter Gabriel needs to be with them too but I’ll settle for Phil and the rest. Great start to the AtoZ. Everything seems to be working well. I’ve spent the last two hours on visiting and commenting! I know I can’t keep that up on the weekdays but it has been fun looking at everyone’s beginnings. And, my IFTTT worked!
    A is for Adele

    Like

    1. Mine has been working, too, both on my blog and the A to Z Challenge blog, which I’m now simulcasting. Wish there was a way to stop an in-line style sheet from passing through, though; WordPress doesn’t like them. Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hope he becomes more active. My faves of his are Against All Odds and Another Day in Paradise. As for my stopping by, my pleasure! Also, thanks or stopping by also 😉

        Like

  6. Color me impressed! Abacab. The song is playing in my head now — NOOOOOOOO! But seriously, how many possibilities are even out there for a word to start in A and end in B AND ALSO be the title of a song?! Well done.

    Like

  7. The album right before they became one of the huge acts of the 1980s. And then Peter Gabriel had a big hit with So. It was hard to believe by the mid-80s that they’d all been in the same band by how different they sounded.

    Like

  8. Great start to the A to Z and love how you tied it into the BOTB. I have to go with Abacab because I think it is in more detail or more difficult…I probably am wrong but that’s my pick.

    Like

  9. What an interesting title! Never heard of them, but the music is catchy! I do miss the non-electronic/non-machinised music from earlier days! You are introducing me to a whole new world of music here! 🙂
    Cheers,
    Ishieta

    Like

  10. Great picks my friend… I’ve joined too. It’s my second year. I’ll be stopping by mostly out of curiosity because you’re so good at what you do. Luvin’ these for sure. Phil Collins is an old favorite of mine. God bless that man for partying with me and making my night out with the girls so much fun!!! Woo Hoo Thanks John! big hugs

    Like

Leave a Reply

