Deep Dive #atozchallenge

DEEP DIVE

Yesterday’s post on CONELRAD is a perfect example of a deep dive, which according to the Online Slang Dictionary is “an in-depth exploration.” Probably not what you expected during the A to Z Challenge, but I’m just full of surprises.

17474d3a52fd7efdada7b5896b5c5906

I think everyone has topics that they really want to get into. Mine are baseball, music, broadcast history, and probably a few others which I can’t think of right now. How about you? What are the topics you want to make a deep dive into?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

37 thoughts on “Deep Dive #atozchallenge”

    1. Thanks for stopping by! Yes, CONELRAD is an interesting side note in broadcast history. I think you’ve talked about all of your deep dive topics on your blog. Wasn’t your theme last year dogs?

      Like

  1. Well, you can predict I deep dive into film, actors…anything having to do with the movies. I also would deep dive into art, animals, travel, true crime, dreams, fairy tales, my mom.

    Like

    1. There are a couple of channels we’ve discovered that are great for true crime: Escape and The Justice Network. Not sure they’re available in Canada… Bill Kurtis, who’s had quite a successful life reporting on true crime, was a newscaster in Chicago before leaving for cable TV. Mary and I always think about all the people who thought he was nuts…

      Like

  2. Funny, all I can think of right now is the fact that I don’t want to dive into the history of the Romanov family, but – as it is the topic of my book club this month – I guess I will tread water with it. I would like to dive into the ocean, but that’s not quite what you mean.

    Like

  3. So is there a specific word for the topic you are using for this AtoZ? It looks like you are using words that start and end with one letter difference. AB, BC, CD etc.
    Potential Deep Dives for me (ones I want to get more into but haven’t) are Astronomy and Architecture.
    One day, I will have more free time, I’m sure. Which is probably when I’ll spend more time on those past-times.

    Like

    1. You got it, Jeffrey. Tomorrow’s word starts with E and ends with F, Friday’s starts with F and ends with G, and so on and so forth and scooby-dooby-dooby… Now, not all the words are actually words….

      Like

  4. I’d like to take a deep dive right now just to escape clients for the rest of the day. Where’s Frain? Dunno, he took a deep dive a couple hours ago and hasn’t surfaced yet.

    Unless, they read these comments, in which case I love every one of them and I wasn’t talking about you to begin with. Whew!

    Like

    1. This reminded me of Rodney Dangerfield in “Caddyshack,” where he goes on a rant about how ugly a hat is, then turns around and sees Ted Knight wearing one. “Oh, looks good on you, though…”

      Like

    1. There will be other educational opportunities, I promise. Glad you and he liked the CONELRAD article. It’s interesting going back to things that scared you as a kid and learning more about them.

      Like

  5. John, I’m sorry for not getting back before now but you know how that goes in April. lol Things I deep dive into are mewsic (like you didn’t know – lol), photography (naturally), and since coming up with my theme for this challenge…sketching! Now, I need to back track to catch your previous post or two. 🙂 Thanks for visiting A2Z Art Sketching Through the Alphabet Letter “D” for “dogs” post and I hope you’ll drop by for my next alpha-prompt, letter “E” for (elephant, eagle, elk!

    Like

  6. this could be my life’s ambition – deep dive into topics.. there was a time I wanted to be a research scientist 🙂 before, real life happened!

    rgds,
    ishieta @ isheeria
    AtoZofHealing on isheeriashealingcircles.com
    &
    also dabbling in dark poetry, 1 could say i kinda just dove right into it, with the AtoZ Challenge to start me off! on:
    Dark Poetry with D

    Like

  7. When I get into a topic that intrigues me I will often deep dive to find as much as I can. Google and YouTube have provided opportunities that I never had in the past. Don’t even have to leave my house to get totally immersed in something that I used to go to libraries and such to get more information–or more commonly, not find out anything more and just remain in the dark.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  8. Deep-dive…hadn’t heard this before, but sounds about right, and then after reading about this, I saw something else somewhere that used that term, and I knew what they meant, thanks to you! 🙂 …My deep-dive into subjects would be of course ghosts, UFOs, and conspiracy theories! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

