Grolsch #atozchallenge

GROLSCH

I’ve never had a Grolsch beer, but judging from the reviews it got over at Beer Advocate, I’m probably not missing much. One reviewer went so far as to say, “I’m almost convinced people only buy this for the dumb pop-cork bottles.”


One of those “dumb pop-cork bottles” (source:Wikipedia)

Grolsch is the second-largest brewer in The Netherlands (behind Heineken) and 21st-largest in the world. About ten years ago, they were sold to SABMiller, who subsequently sold it to Anheuser-Busch. Last year, A-B sold it and the Peroni and Meantime brands to Asahi Group, so they’re now owned by a Japanese company. Their primary brewery is located in Enschede, where the football stadium for FC Twente is named De Grolsch Veste, or “The Grolsch Fortress.”

Are you a fan of Grolsch?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

40 thoughts on “Grolsch #atozchallenge”

  1. As one of those long time “beer snobs” who was a beer snob before it was cool, I can say that it’s not great. But it still beats out Bud, Miller, and Coors all day, every day. And although not much to it, it is drinkable on its own terms.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not really. My friend is a home brewer and likes the bottles so I sometimes get it so I can give him the empties. It did taste a bit better when I tried it in the Netherlands.

    Like

  3. Given the embarrassment of riches in the current craft beer renaissance, I lump Grolsch with thin, tasteless American lager. OK, maybe it’s slightly better than the watery stuff they served at Champaign, IL bars in the 1970s, but the only reason to buy that first bottle and not throw it away after the first sip is… the bottle.

    Like

      1. Yeah, better than PBR – but that’s not saying much. Grolsch was one of those beers you bought in the early 1980s to try getting away from PBR or Miller. Since it was imported, youi thought it might be better. After tasting it, you went back to Guiness for some heavier flavor.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. You don’t hear about it as much as other imported beers, to wit Guinness and Harp, Molson, and Heineken, but it’s pretty popular. I can’t drink anymore, too many meds.

      Like

      1. ๐Ÿ˜€ My friend Serge up in Canada suggested that, too. He knows I go to sleep after the second glass of ANY alcohol., but he thinks I’ll stay awake longer with that! LOL

        Like

  4. You’d think, being German, that I drink a lot of beer. It’s generally not my thing, but sometimes good on a hot summer’s day and in that case, it’s always Grolsch. ๐Ÿ™‚ It tastes very much like a beer I used to know in the old country: ‘Dortmunder Union’, which no longer exists. We had a bunch of those bottles and finally got rid of them, but I did keep two, since they don’t make them anymore, far as I know. I was surprised it got such poor reviews! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    Like

  5. Sorry, I am soooooooooooo not a beer person! Hubby is though… he drinks Miller Gold ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great weekend my friend I gotta fly. I’m bound and determined to get my numbers back up in visitors. They dropped over 100 and I have no idea how that happened or what I’m doing wrong. ~sniff-sniff~ So depressing! So I joined the Alphabet fun!!! Hugs and I hope you have a great weekend. If you have any pointers I’d sure appreciate. HUGS

    Like

  6. I am not enough of a beer drinker to warrant the expense. I can’t even tell the difference between a Coors and a Bud or Light from regular. All of them make me have to go to the bathroom a lot (TMI – I know).
    Janet
    G is for Genesis

    Like

  7. I am not a beer person but my Opa would have a little beer and would complain about our Canadian beer because he would call it mineral water. I asked him what is then U.S. Beer and he just said…just plain water:) I’ve brought this beer from Holland and my brother didn’t mind it at all. I consider him a beer connoisseur

    Like

    1. Beer in the US is weaker than Canadian. The craft beer boom has really put both to shame, although there are some craft beers that are pretty awful (I had some that had blueberries in it, for example). I don’t drink anymore, so it’s a moot issue in my case.

      Like

  8. I’ve never really been a beer fan, but I have to confess, not needing a bottle opener seems like it would be a great idea! I kind of like the design of these! ๐Ÿ™‚

    My “theme” – A Thirty-Word Story, revealing one word of the story each day of the challenge.
    #AtoZChallenge The Letter G

    Like

Leave a Reply

