The Week That Was, B-G Edition

The Week That Was is brought to you by McDonalds.

McDonald’s has sarted with “breakfast all day,” but every retaurant you go to has a different menu, and not all of them have Egg McMuffins, and yes, it’s a lot more pricey than it was in 1984.

Busy week this past week, so let’s get started with this week’s summary…

The Week That Was

First, the results of last week’s Battle of the Bands, which pitted Peter Gabriel against Phil Collins in a battle between Genesis lead singers.

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

Peter Gabriel: 7
Phil Collins: 6

This was a close one. Congratulations to both singers on a well-fought battle. Next BotB will be this Saturday, April 15.

This was a freebie week, which was a good thing, because I was beat. I counted down the top five from WLS on April 3, 1982.

Much to Dan’s chagrin, the featured act from my high school days was Bread. Hey, we have to get through the lousy acts, too, and they were popular back in the day. They could actually rock pretty hard, but their harder-rocking stuff was never released as singles. Go figure.

1linerwedsbadgewes

Now that MeTV is off the air in Atlanta, we’ve been watching reruns of Frasier on Cozi TV, a more than adequate replacement. The one-liner was from an episode where Frasier challenges everyone to do something different on Leap Year Day, and hilarity ensued.

The prompt was “something you forgot to do yesterday,” and in my case it was “write.”

I followed up on my March 24 post, which was to name songs with a day of the week in the title. You came up with eight more, and then a couple of people came up with the song “Sunday Morning Comin’ Down,” though Calen said Johnny Cash did it and Gail said Kris Kristofferson did it. We’ll probably use that as the basis for a Battle of the Bands in the near future (I have something planned for Saturday’s battle). Thank you, Calen and Gail.

socsbadgecropped

The prompt was “give/given/giving,” and I thought of songs that had “gimme” (i.e. “give me”) in the title. There are quite a few, as it turns out, even if you don’t count the rap and hip-hop songs that have it in the title, which I didn’t.

a2z2017

And let’s not forget the entries from the A to Z Challenge for this week.

  • Monday’s post was about voice acting superstar Mel Blanc.
  • Tuesday I discussed the original Emergency Broadcast System, CONELRAD.
  • Realizing that Tuesday’s entry was a bit of a deep dive, “deep dive” was the subject of Wednesday’s post.
  • I diplayed my relatively weak knowledge about elves, or should I say elfs, in Thursday’s post.
  • I talked about the Highland fling, a dance I saw frequently at Highland festivals in my piping days, on Friday.
  • Yesterday, I talked about Grolsch, a so-so beer in a cool bottle.

The A to Z Challenge continues with entries on the letters K through M, we’ll have another Battle of the Bands on Saturday, and all the regular features will continue, because I’m a masochist. I hope to get to many more of you this week as well.

And that’s it for thi edition of The Week That Was. Please join me again next week for more music and other stuff!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

4 thoughts on “The Week That Was, B-G Edition”

  1. I would like to hear some of Bread’s harder stuff. I imagine it is a bit like finding Journey’s more experimental pieces and the philosophical stuff from Hall & Oates (YES, there is such stuff out there). Obviously that stuff never makes it onto the “best of” albums, but it’s where you really see what the bands are made of….

    As for Phil Collins or Peter Gabriel… that IS a hard one. I don’t think I could choose. They both brought amazing things to the band.

    Like

Leave a Reply

