INFJ, ISFJ, ISTJ, INTJ #atozchallenge

INFJ etc.

This is my sixth A to Z Challenge, and there’s always a letter that gives me trouble. It’s usually X, because there are few words that start with X, although I’ve figured out that X is the Roman numeral for ten, so I usually do a list of ten things. X is also the Greek letter chi, and sometimes that works. This year X isn’t a problem. I is. There are no words that I could find that started with I and ended with J, using my theme for this year.

Then I had an idea: Myers-Briggs!


Source:delta-associates.com/Pinterest

There are four abbreviations of the MBTI personality types that start with I and end with J, specifically the four listed in the title. The I indicates a person who is primarily introverted: inward-focused, quiet, reflective, etc. The opposite would be someone who is extraverted, outwardly-focused, gregarious, etc. The J indicates a person who judges based on whether they are more as thinker or a feeler, and prefers to have things settled. The opposite is a person whose perceives things either as concrete or abstract, and like to leave their options open.

This gets quite complicated, as you can see… The Wikipedia article I linked to above goes into more detail and explain the middle two letters of each type.

Several websites, among them 16Personalities.com, assign names to each of the sixteen personality types and give a brief description of what the types mean. Here is what 16Personalities says about each of these four personality types.

Have you taken a test that purports to show you your Myers-Briggs personality type? Does it agree with your own assessment?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

42 thoughts on “INFJ, ISFJ, ISTJ, INTJ #atozchallenge”

  1. Yup. I’ve done the 16personalities test a few times INFJ-T, it said last time, though some tests showed me as INTJ -T. Having read the detailed stuff, I think it’s mostly there or thereabouts, although I would differ in some details.

    Like

    1. I don’t think people “change.” I think they adapt to the situations they find themselves in. I was an introvert in a family of extraverts, so I had to develop a more extraverted style when I was with them. Ditto the other dimensions.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have taken this more than once and I am always right in the middle between I and E I do remember I am a Feeler( that sounds funny) and a Judger…which sounds horrible but I can’t remember the S vs N…I have to look it up. Great way to get through this one

    Like

  3. I don’t mean this as an insult; just a “fun” observation. Dad, your grandfather of course, used to call me a “walking encyclopedia of useless knowledge.” After this post of yours I think you deserve this family distinction more than me!

    Like

    1. I think it’s based on Jungian psychology, which had some pretty odd elements to it. I’m also an INFP, but for the longest time I was taking those tests and coming out as ENFP. I think I’m more an ambivert, and it just depended on what questions the test asked.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It does a pretty good job. The introvert-extravert thing can be off a little, because there are those (like me) who are more ambiverts, displaying signs of both. For that matter, all of the measures can go either way. Still, it’s pretty accurate and gives you a general idea of your psychological makeup.

      Like

  4. Good post for the letter of the day! I’ve taken the test a bunch of times, and every time it comes out different. Then it gets confusing, like math is to me, with all those letters meaning something different. Oh, well. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. It’s easy to get hung up on what each dimension means, rather than realizing that it’s a general tendency. You might lie somewhere very close to the middle of each dimension, which is, I think, a good place to be.

      Like

    1. If you’re a writer, it’s interesting to take the test as your characters. There are all kinds of quizzies out there that will give you some idea where you lie on each dimension.

      Like

  5. I am also an ambivert on the E vs. I and the only consistent letter for me when testing is the “S” (Sensing) which indicates a preference for practical and what is real (as opposed to “N” which is geared more toward possibility and theory.) Over the years, I’ve used MBTI to at least try to understand the motivations and wiring of customers and business partners. For instance, my boss is the classic INTJ which is a type I need to work harder on given my natural S tendencies. My wife types ISTJ which, interestingly enough, is most common amongst males. I’ve found it to sometimes put people in boxes, and although interesting, it should only be used for a general understanding and starting point. The good news is that, with practice, anything becomes easier and my INTJ boss has opened my eyes to possibilities my Sensing brain might never have considered and, because of that, I’ve become more open to possibilities that, previously, I would have considered “crazy!”

    Like

    1. Exactly: it shouldn’t be taken as an absolute. Kind of like judging people based on their astrological sign. I think it’s a good idea to use it as a starting point, like you your boss. I remember we all took it at the bank, where nearly everyone was an ESTJ and I was the only INFP. I never heard the end of it.

      Like

  6. INFJ here. I’ve taken the test a couple of times, years apart and it still shows that. My daughter, taking psychology in college, says the Myers Briggs test is not scientific. Oh well…
    Janet

    Like

    1. It isn’t, really. It can be helpful to understand someone else, and can point a person in a general direction when looking for a career. It’s based in Jungian psychology, which occasionally strays into non-scientific areas.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes! done this. very popular test here in corporate training in india. it is accurate near-abouts, add to it your own assessment from yr life-experience-wisdonm. and you can pretty much correctly analyse any candidate πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. I take back my comment about your posting being “useless knowledge.” Had no idea that Myers Briggs was so familiar to so many of your followers. I take back my offer of you now being the family “encyclopedia of useless knowledge.” I will retain the title! Happy Easter to you and Mary.

    Like

  9. There’s an A-toZer ‘Madness of a modern writer’ who’s using MBTI with greek and chinese zodiacs for all of their posts looking at personalities for fiction.
    Done MBTI a few times. Fascinating stuff..

    Like

Leave a Reply

