Janek #atozchallenge

JANEK

Richard Crenna was a fine actor who rose to television prominence in The Real McCoys, playing Luke, the son of Amos McCoy, played by the estimable Walter Brennan. Later, he starred in Slattery’s People, and from then on he was a familiar face on TV and in movies (he played Colonel Trautman in the first three “Rambo” movies).

In the late 1980’s and 1990’s, he starred in seven TV movies as Lieutenant Frank Janek of the NYPD. One of those movies was 1994’s The Forget-Me-Not Murders, co-starring Tyne Daly as Dr. Archer, who is convincing her patients to commit murders on her behalf, including trying to kill Janek’s daughter. Dr. Archer has what might be called an unhealthy obsession with a painting of her mother, done by her erstwhile father.

It was actually a pretty good movie, as TV movies go. Here is the entire movie, courtesy of YouTube user Retro Movies Central. If you have an hour and a half, it’s worth watching.

Had you already seen the movie, or did you watch? What did you think?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

25 thoughts on “Janek #atozchallenge”

    1. He was a good one. He could do both comedy and drama, and though he was a leading man he never outshone his role. It was never “Richard Crenna playing Janek” or “Richard Crenna playing Luke McCoy.” Don’t know if that makes any sense…

      Like

  1. I really liked this actor and totally forgot about this character but I watched this along with my mom who loved this show. It’s not really a show but special TV movies I guess. I was surprised when I heard he passed away and saddened

    Like

    1. I remember when “Wait Until Dark” first came out, and the big deal was they’d turn down the lights in the theater as low as the law permitted (leaving the Exit signs on, I guess) in the last ten minutes. I never saw the movie; I think I was eight or nine when it came out and it never showed on TV as far as I know (or I missed it). Funny that, in this movie, Tyne Daly was his antagonist and in “Judging Amy” he was her fiance…

      Like

  2. Hi John – I haven’t seen this series … but if he starred with Audrey Hepburn in “Wait Until Dark” – I’ve only not seen it because it’s a scary but I love Audrey’s work … cheers Hilary

    Like

    1. I think you meant Billy Preston with the malignant hypertension, and yes, they can control it. I’ve had hypertension for years (my stroke was caused by it) and I take several medications to control it, plus cut back on the salt and (try to) lose weight.

      Which film are you talking about, “Wait Until Dark” or the one I’ve embedded? If it’s the latter, you can make the video full-screen size. Netflix might be your best chance at seeing the former.

      Like

  3. You know, I remember that character! I don’t know if I’ve seen the specific movie you link, but I know I’ve seen some them! I kind of remember when NYPD Blue came out, I thought there was a connection with Janek.

    My “theme” – A Thirty-Word Story, revealing one word of the story each day of the challenge.
    #AtoZChallenge The Letter K

    Like

Leave a Reply

