The Easter Sunday 2017 Week That Was

This edition of The Week That Was is sponsored by the Shake-An-Egg Easter egg coloring kit.

Happy Easter from all of us here at The Sound of One Hand Typing, and Happy Passover to my Jewish friends!

The Week That Was

Hope the weather is good where you are. It’s sunny and warm here, before the bad weather sets in tomorrow. Glad I got a new weather radio. Here’s what went on here last week, in case you missed it. Click the badges to bring up the articles.

The theme this past week was Grammy winners from the year I turned 18. Since I hadn’t quite turned 18 when the Grammys were presented in 1974, and because the 1974 Grammy Awards were given to the winners from 1973, I played three songs from both 1974 and 1975. As many of you commented, it wasn’t exactly a watershed time for music.

Two for Tuesday remembered the late Billy Preston with two of his four hits from the early Seventies that reached the Top Ten, and a video of him when he was eleven, playing and singing with Nat King Cole.

1linerwedsbadgewes

I spent most of the day on Wednesday reading and commenting on blogs, so it was almost 10 PM when I shared my one-liner. Since we were getting ready to watch The A-Team, I shared Hannibal Smith’s catchphrase. I did that entry using the WordPress app on my Kindle Fire, so it was a bit plainer than most of them are, because it’s a little more complicated working with a touch screen, especially when trying to cut-and-paste. I decided to turn Markdown support back on as a result, because it’s a lot less complicated when all you have to do is type. I will probably do a short tutorial on Markdown at some point. Sadly, Markdown isn’t supported on Blogger.

I shared my five favorite apps, which have nothing to do with taking pictures or playing games. Yeah, I’m boring, but I had already talked about Two Dots in an earlier Writer’s Workshop entry. I hope some of you got some ideas on how to make your life easier.

Resisting the temptation to feature songs with “good” in the title, I featured songs with “lady” in the title, because it was “L” day of the A to Z Challenge. You came up with a bunch more songs, which I’ll build into a playlist and share this coming Friday.

socsbadgecropped

The prompt was “moo,” and while I started out talking about drink mixes, somehow I ended up talking about breakfast cereals, because, after all, it was Stream of Consciousness Saturday.

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

I’ll announce the winner of this week’s Battle of the Bands this coming Saturday. The contestants are two different themes from the British spy-fi TV series The Avengers, one by Johnny Dankworth, the other by Laurie Johnson. Give ’em both a listen and vote for your fave.

a2z2017

Oh yeah, and I am participating in this month’s A to Z Challenge. This week was H through M.

  • Monday: The Aloha State, Hawai’i
  • Tuesday: Fun with the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator, specifically judgmental introverts.
  • Wednesday: One of Richard Crenna’s better characters, William Bayer’s NYPD detective Frank Janek.
  • Thursday: The beautiful and talented Miss Diana Krall.
  • Friday: Number 3 on the Periodic Table of Elements, lithium.
  • Saturday: The late, great drummer for The Who, Keith Moon.

Topics for the A to Z Challenge include a popular candy, Venn diagrams, a game show named after its sponsor, reading music English-style, a popular children’s book, and invoices. Plus, freebie day on M4, another popular act from the early Seventies, a one-liner, your “lady” songs, and whatever Mama Kat and Linda come up with as prompts for Thursday and Saturday.

And that’s it for this edition of The Week That Was. Be seeing you!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

9 thoughts on “The Easter Sunday 2017 Week That Was”

  1. You write across so many different themes, that it is quite interesting! and I find these round up posts of yrs a good way to catch up 🙂 I have no idea how you find the time and discipline to do so many things!
    bows respecfully.
    Ishieta

    Like

  2. A start of a new week! I have to see if I can get my post up and running. That bunny makes me think he could easily be in that movie with Jake Gyllenhaal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

