Two for Tuesday: Gladys Knight and The Pips

Gladys Knight and The Pips had six Top Ten tunes in the early Seventies, for a total of thirty weeks in the Top Ten.

It’s not hard to believe that “Midnight Train To Georgia” was their biggest hit during that period, and might be their biggest hit ever. It spent eight weeks in the Top Ten and reached #1 in October 1973. This was the first song they did for Buddah Records.

Earlier in 1973, their song “Neither One Of Us” reached the Top Ten, where it stayed for six weeks, peaking at #2. This was their last song for Motown Records.

The group, comprised of Gladys, brother Merald (a/k/a Bubba), and cousins William Guest and Edward Patten, split in 1989, with Gladys launching a successful solo career and the rest retiring. Guest and Patten formed Guest and Patten Productions in Detroit, later The Crew Entertainment Company. Both have since passed on, Guest from congestive heart failure in 2015, Patten from complications of diabetes in 1997. Bubba continues to oversee Gladys’s career as her tour manager, joining her onstage occasionally.

Gladys Knight and The Pips, your Two for Tuesday, April 18, 2017.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

13 thoughts on “Two for Tuesday: Gladys Knight and The Pips”

    1. I haven’t seen that show, although I know that one contestant this year is David Ross, who was with the Braves for a couple of years before signing with the Cubs and being on their team last year when they won the World Series. Erin Andrews was a contestant a few years ago, too; she started her sportscasting career with TBS Sports, giving the out-of-town scores. (I never understood why people didn’t like her when she was on TBS; she was more than competent and very pretty.) I also remember Alfonso Ribiero caused quite a stir when he was on…

      Like

    1. I considered putting that one in, but went with their two highest-charting singles. “If I Were Your Woman” was a beautiful song, but not one of their better-selling ones, at least on the Pop chart, though it went to #1 on the R&B chart.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. When I was younger, I used to think they were called ‘Gladys Knight and her Pimps’. I really enjoy Midnight Train To Georgia. I could hear the tune in my head before I clicked on the video.

    Running behind on my commenting again.. sorry!

    ~Mary
    Jingle Jangle Jungle
    #AtoZChallenge 1970’s Billboard Hits

    Like

Leave a Reply

