Monday’s Music Moves Me: Traveling Songs

Guess who got to pick the theme for today? The letter of the day for the A to Z Challenge is T, so I picked a theme that started with that letter: traveling songs. Here are a few I came up with.

Elvin Bishop, “Travelin’ Shoes” Elvin Bishop was one of the original members of the Butterfield Blues Band who left in the late Sixties to front his own band, The Elvin Bishop Group.

Canned Heat, “On The Road Again” Canned Heat were a Southern California band that started out doing a lot of blues. Both founders, vocalist Bob “The Bear” Hite and guitarist/harmonicist/vocalist Alan “Blind Owl” Wilson, were avid blues fans. Blind Owl sings this, which rose to #16 on the Hot 100 in 1969.

Vanity Fare, “Hitchin’ A Ride” A British band, they had their greatest success with this song, which reached #5 on the Hot 100 and #3 in Canada in 1970.

The Grateful Dead, “Truckin'” I kind of blow hot and cold on The Grateful Dead. They were really popular in the Sixties and Seventies, which might be attributed to the chemically-induced mental state of the fans. They were never much for the Hot 100, although this song spent eight weeks on the Singles chart, reaching #64. It’s from their 1969 album American Beauty.

Wes Montgomery, “Road Song” To watch Wes Montgomery play, you’d think he didn’t know what he was doing, but when you heard him, you realized he was one of the greatest jazz guitarists of the post-bop era. After years recording for Riverside and Verve, two jazz labels, he signed with Herb Alpert’s A&M Records and adopted a more commercial sound. Hardcore jazz fans questioned the move without noticing that he recorded some great music for A&M, including this, the title track from his third and last album for the label, recorded shortly before his death in 1968.

So there are a couple of traveling songs. Can you think of others? There are a ton of them out there.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

37 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Traveling Songs”

  1. You left some obvious ones for me to pick! Travelin Man by Ricky Nelson; on the Road Again by Willie Nelson; and I’ve been Everywhere, Man by Johnny Cash. I’ll stop there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. John, “Hitchin’ A Ride” is the only travel tune in your post I’m familiar with. I really enjoyed Wes Montgomery’s “Road Song”. The instrumental is a nice touch for this morning. The only travel songs to instantly pop in my head is John Denver’s “Leaving On A Jet Plane” and Willie Nelson’s “On the Road Again”. Great theme pick and thanks for sharing the dance floor with the 4M crew!

    ~Curious as a Cathy
    Art Sketching Through the Alphabet “T” (Treehouse)

    Like

  3. Since the songs don’t have to have the word “Traveling” in them then there are so many that could be named. First ones that came to my mind were “Ramblin’ Man” by the Allman Brothers
    and “Ramble On” by Led Zeppelin. There’s gotta be a ton of songs with this theme.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  4. Ronnie Van Zant sang an anti-travel song –

    “Well it’s true I love the money and I love my brand new car
    I like drinkin’ the best of whiskey and playing in a honky tonk bar
    But when I come off the road, well I just got to have my time
    ’cause I got to find a break in this action, else I’m gonna lose my mind.”

    Like

  5. Okay, this is a bummer… I’ve been commenting all day and nothing is working out. I’ve got a new computer and it’s huge.. love it, but bringing everything over and having to be careful because I don’t want to bring any bugs with me. Finding my passwords has been a real trip for me to say the least. Love your choices and Truckin’ is my favorite. My dad use to sing that song he was a trucker. hehehehe~ Great choice there John!!! Everyone loved the theme!!! CONGRATS again for being our Spotlight Dancer! BIG HUGS!

    Like

    1. I use LastPass, which keeps my passwords all in one place and means I just have to remember one password. That way, I can access them from any computer or online device and don’t have to remember everything.

      Like

Leave a Reply

